CRAIGDARROCH CASTLE HISTORICAL MUSEUM SOCIETY
Charitable organizationPublic amenities·1050 JOAN CRES · VICTORIA, BC · V8S 3L5·BN 108079310RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31
Cents to cause T1
—
not in this filing
Operating overhead T1
—
not in this filing
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$2.1M
not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.
Common questions
How do I donate to Craigdarroch Castle Historical Museum Society?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Craigdarroch Castle Historical Museum Society a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 108079310RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Craigdarroch Castle Historical Museum Society located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 1050 JOAN CRES, VICTORIA, BC, V8S 3L5. Source.
What does Craigdarroch Castle Historical Museum Society do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "CRAIGDARROCH CASTLE IS A DESIGNATED NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE AND AN IMPORTANT SYMBOL OF BRITISH COLUMBIA CANADIAN AND WORLD HISTORY. THE CASTLE CONTINUES ONGOING CONSERVATION RESTORATION PRESERVATION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE MUSEUM FOR LOCAL NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL VISITORS AND PROVIDES OPPORTUNITIES FOR UNIQUE…" Full program description.
How big is Craigdarroch Castle Historical Museum Society?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $2.1M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $1M–$10M revenue band, alongside 9,072 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
CRAIGDARROCH CASTLE IS A DESIGNATED NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE AND AN IMPORTANT SYMBOL OF BRITISH COLUMBIA CANADIAN AND WORLD HISTORY. THE CASTLE CONTINUES ONGOING CONSERVATION RESTORATION PRESERVATION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE MUSEUM FOR LOCAL NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL VISITORS AND PROVIDES OPPORTUNITIES FOR UNIQUE AND FULFILLING LEARNING EXPERIENCES TO CURRENT AND FUTURE GENERATIONS. THE CASTLE IS OPEN 362 DAYS A YEAR FOR TOURS AND ADDITIONALLY OFFERS AN EXTENSIVE CHRISTMAS PROGRAM THROUGHOUT DECEMBER INCLUDING ‘IN-CHARACTER’ GUIDED SCHOOL TOURS COMMUNITY EVENTS ON THE LAWN WHEN AVAILABLE… Show more
CRAIGDARROCH CASTLE IS A DESIGNATED NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE AND AN IMPORTANT SYMBOL OF BRITISH COLUMBIA CANADIAN AND WORLD HISTORY. THE CASTLE CONTINUES ONGOING CONSERVATION RESTORATION PRESERVATION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE MUSEUM FOR LOCAL NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL VISITORS AND PROVIDES OPPORTUNITIES FOR UNIQUE AND FULFILLING LEARNING EXPERIENCES TO CURRENT AND FUTURE GENERATIONS. THE CASTLE IS OPEN 362 DAYS A YEAR FOR TOURS AND ADDITIONALLY OFFERS AN EXTENSIVE CHRISTMAS PROGRAM THROUGHOUT DECEMBER INCLUDING ‘IN-CHARACTER’ GUIDED SCHOOL TOURS COMMUNITY EVENTS ON THE LAWN WHEN AVAILABLE THEATRE IN THE FALL AND A NUMBER OF OTHER PROGRAMS AS OPPORTUNITIES ARISE. ADDITIONALLY THE CASTLE OFFERS FACILITY USE RENTALS IN THE EVENING FOR VARIOUS CORPORATE AND CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS AND FROM TIME TO TIME IS USED AS A FILM LOCATION AS IT IS OPERATIONALLY VIABLE FOR THE CASTLE TO DO SO. THERE ARE APPROXIMATELY 20 VOLUNTEERS ACTING AS DOCENTS AND RESEARCHERS ALONG WITH A CORE STAFF OF 16 AND AN ADDITIONAL 3 SEASONAL STAFF
New programs
THE CASTLE SOCIETY CONTINUES TO WORK WITH INDIGENOUS COMMUNITIES TO IMPLEMENT THE CANADIAN MUSEUMS ASSOCIATION’S MOVEDT O ACTION REPORT. OUR STAFF HAVE DEVELOPED NEW IN PERSON SPECIALTY TOUR CONTENT OFFERED A LA CARTE FOR VISITORS LOOKING FOR A MORE FOCUSED TOUR CONTENT. THESE TOURS ARE OFFERED IN ENGLISH FRENCH AND MANDARIN.
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
—
Not computable from this filing.
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$2.1M
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)1%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
0%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
1%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
0%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
99%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-12-31 | $2.5M | — | — | — |
| 2020-12-31 | $1.0M | — | — | — |
| 2021-12-31 | $1.6M | — | — | — |
| 2022-12-31 | $1.7M | — | — | — |
| 2023-12-31 | — | 100¢ | — | 1.1 yr |
| 2024-12-31 | $2.1M | — | — | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- MUSEUM OF THE CARIBOO CHILCOTIN SOCIETY
WILLIAMS LAKE, BC·revenue $120K
5¢to programs · T1
- THE CRANBROOK ARCHIVES MUSEUM AND LANDMARK SOCIETY
CRANBROOK, BC·revenue $693K
94¢to programs · T1
- THE CANADIAN HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION - LA SOCIETE HISTORIQUE DU CANADA
OTTAWA, ON·revenue $358K
83¢to programs · T1
- THE MARITIME MUSEUM OF BRITISH COLUMBIA SOCIETY
VICTORIA, BC·revenue $1.6M
50¢to programs · T1
- BROOKS AND DISTRICT MUSEUM AND HISTORICAL SOCIETY
BROOKS, AB·revenue $516K
75¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
9 directors reported · 9 of 9at arm's length
- SOMOGYI, KELLYSECRETARYarm's length
- REASON, NANCYarm's length
- FOSTER, PATRICIAarm's length
- SORRELL, WILLarm's length
- DANN, MOIRAPRESIDENTarm's length
- MURTA, JUIEarm's length
- KING, KEVANTREASURERarm's length
- LYONS, STEPHENVICE PRESIDENTarm's length
- PASS, ANGELICAarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗