CANADIAN MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION ALGOMA
Charitable organizationCore health care·386 QUEEN STREET EAST · SAULT STE-MARIE, ON · P6A 1Z1·BN 118834290RR0001
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31
Cents to cause T1
—
not in this filing
Operating overhead T1
—
not in this filing
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$10.1M
not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.
Common questions
How do I donate to Canadian Mental Health Association Algoma?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Canadian Mental Health Association Algoma a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 118834290RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Canadian Mental Health Association Algoma located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 386 QUEEN STREET EAST, SAULT STE-MARIE, ON, P6A 1Z1. Source.
What does Canadian Mental Health Association Algoma do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "HEALTH PROMOTION/EDUCATION - INFORMS AND EDUCATES THE COMMUNITY ABOUT MENTAL HEALTH AND MENTAL ILLNESSES THROUGH A VARIETY OF WORKSHOPS AND SEMINARS. -COUNSELLING - PROVIDES IDENTIFICATION AND ASSESSMENT OF SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS; PROVIDES SHORT AND LONG TERM COUNSELLING AND PSYCHOTHERAPY ON AN INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP…" Full program description.
How big is Canadian Mental Health Association Algoma?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $10.1M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $10M–$100M revenue band, alongside 1,776 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
HEALTH PROMOTION/EDUCATION - INFORMS AND EDUCATES THE COMMUNITY ABOUT MENTAL HEALTH AND MENTAL ILLNESSES THROUGH A VARIETY OF WORKSHOPS AND SEMINARS. -COUNSELLING - PROVIDES IDENTIFICATION AND ASSESSMENT OF SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS; PROVIDES SHORT AND LONG TERM COUNSELLING AND PSYCHOTHERAPY ON AN INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP BASIS. -CLUB 84 - PROVIDES SOCIAL REHAB FOR PERSONS WITH MENTAL ILLNESS. -ADDICTIONS TREATMENT - PROVIDES SUPPORT COUNCELLING AND CARE TO PERSONS WITH SUBSTANCE USE ADDICTIONS -SUPPORTIVE HOUSING - COORDINATES AND STAFFS SUPPORTIVE HOUSING FOR PERSONS WITH ADDICTIONS AND/OR ME… Show more
HEALTH PROMOTION/EDUCATION - INFORMS AND EDUCATES THE COMMUNITY ABOUT MENTAL HEALTH AND MENTAL ILLNESSES THROUGH A VARIETY OF WORKSHOPS AND SEMINARS. -COUNSELLING - PROVIDES IDENTIFICATION AND ASSESSMENT OF SIGNS AND SYMPTOMS; PROVIDES SHORT AND LONG TERM COUNSELLING AND PSYCHOTHERAPY ON AN INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP BASIS. -CLUB 84 - PROVIDES SOCIAL REHAB FOR PERSONS WITH MENTAL ILLNESS. -ADDICTIONS TREATMENT - PROVIDES SUPPORT COUNCELLING AND CARE TO PERSONS WITH SUBSTANCE USE ADDICTIONS -SUPPORTIVE HOUSING - COORDINATES AND STAFFS SUPPORTIVE HOUSING FOR PERSONS WITH ADDICTIONS AND/OR MENTAL ILLNESS
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
—
Not computable from this filing.
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$10.1M
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)0%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
91%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
0%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
91%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
9%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-03-31 | $2.8M | 94¢ | 6% | 0.3 yr |
| 2020-03-31 | $2.8M | — | — | — |
| 2021-03-31 | $3.6M | 95¢ | 5% | 0.7 yr |
| 2022-03-31 | $7.9M | 95¢ | 5% | 0.4 yr |
| 2023-03-31 | $9.4M | 95¢ | 5% | 0.3 yr |
| 2024-03-31 | $10.1M | — | — | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- CANADIAN MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION - CENTRAL REGION INC.
PORTAGE LA PRAIRIE, MB·revenue $872K
93¢to programs · T1
- CANADIAN MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION ALBERTA CENTRAL REGION
RED DEER, AB·revenue $2.7M
90¢to programs · T1
- THE CANADIAN MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION
TORONTO, ON·revenue $10.9M4 of 5 stars, Charity Intelligence T2
61¢to programs · T1
- CANADIAN MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION NIAGARA BRANCH
ST CATHARINES, ON·revenue $12.6M
91¢to programs · T1
- THE CANADIAN MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION ALBERTA DIVISION AND CENTRE FOR SUICIDE PREVENTION
CALGARY, AB·revenue $4.7M
90¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
7 directors reported · 7 of 7at arm's length
- WILSON, CHARLENECHAIRarm's length
- BOYER-NOLAN, JONATHANVICE-CHAIRarm's length
- DICKSON, JENNIFERTREASURERarm's length
- THIBAULT, CATHERINEDIRECTORarm's length
- KIRKHAM, KATEDIRECTORarm's length
- HEPBURN, CAROLYNDIRECTORarm's length
- MACDONALD, SANDYDIRECTORarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗