Skip to main content

HELPAGE CANADA - / AIDE AUX AÎNES (CANADA)

Charitable organizationOrganizations relieving poverty·205-1300 CARLING AVE · OTTAWA, ON · K1Z 7L2·BN 118955921RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

79¢

of each dollar spent, to programs

Operating overhead T1

21%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

0.8 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$2.5M

Charity Intelligence ★★★★ · T2

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

Common questions

How do I donate to Helpage Canada -?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Helpage Canada - a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 118955921RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Helpage Canada - located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 205-1300 CARLING AVE, OTTAWA, ON, K1Z 7L2. Source.

What does Helpage Canada - do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "MEN'S SHEDS: A MEN'S SHED IS A COMMUNITY -BASED GROUP OPEN TO ALL PROVIDING A SAFE FRIENDLY INCLUSIVE ENVIRONMENT TO GATHER AND RATICIPATE IN GROUP ACTIVITIES. AGE BETTER (PREVIOUSLY SENIORS CAN!): IS AN INITIATIVE OF HELPAGE CANADA DESIGNED TO HELP LOW-INCOME SENIORS ACROSS CANADA AVOID ISOLATION AND LONELINESS…" Full program description.

How much of Helpage Canada -'s spending goes to programs?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 79¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is Helpage Canada -?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $2.5M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $1M–$10M revenue band, alongside 9,072 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

MEN'S SHEDS: A MEN'S SHED IS A COMMUNITY -BASED GROUP OPEN TO ALL PROVIDING A SAFE FRIENDLY INCLUSIVE ENVIRONMENT TO GATHER AND RATICIPATE IN GROUP ACTIVITIES. AGE BETTER (PREVIOUSLY SENIORS CAN!): IS AN INITIATIVE OF HELPAGE CANADA DESIGNED TO HELP LOW-INCOME SENIORS ACROSS CANADA AVOID ISOLATION AND LONELINESS AND TO ENGAGE MORE FULLY WITH THEIR COMMUNITIES. UKRAINE PROGRAM: IN RESPONSE TO THE RUSSIAN INVASION OF UKRAINE HELPAGE CANADA BEGAN A FUNDRAISING CAMPAIGN TO CONTRACT WITH HELPAGE INTERNATIONAL (HAI) FOR PROGRAM DELIVERY IN MOLDOVA POLAND AND UKRAINE. GAZA: IN RESPONSE TO THE … Show more

MEN'S SHEDS: A MEN'S SHED IS A COMMUNITY -BASED GROUP OPEN TO ALL PROVIDING A SAFE FRIENDLY INCLUSIVE ENVIRONMENT TO GATHER AND RATICIPATE IN GROUP ACTIVITIES. AGE BETTER (PREVIOUSLY SENIORS CAN!): IS AN INITIATIVE OF HELPAGE CANADA DESIGNED TO HELP LOW-INCOME SENIORS ACROSS CANADA AVOID ISOLATION AND LONELINESS AND TO ENGAGE MORE FULLY WITH THEIR COMMUNITIES. UKRAINE PROGRAM: IN RESPONSE TO THE RUSSIAN INVASION OF UKRAINE HELPAGE CANADA BEGAN A FUNDRAISING CAMPAIGN TO CONTRACT WITH HELPAGE INTERNATIONAL (HAI) FOR PROGRAM DELIVERY IN MOLDOVA POLAND AND UKRAINE. GAZA: IN RESPONSE TO THE ONGOING CONFLICT IN GAZA HELPAGE CANADA BEGAN FUNDRAISING CAPAIGN TO PROVIDE LIFESAVING HUMANITARIAN ASSISTANCE TO OLDER GAZANS AND THEIR FAMILIES THROUGH HUMANITARIAN PARTNERS. SPONSOR A GRANDPARENT: THIS PORGRAM MATCHES A DONOR WITH AN OLDER PERSON OVERSEAS. CANADA HOMESHARE: INTERGENERATIONAL CO-HOUSING PROGRAM FOR POST-SECONDARY STUDENTS AND SENIORS MATCHING OLDER ADULT HOME PROVIDERS WITH STUDENTS TO CREATE MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL LIVING SOLUTIONS. TURKEY SYRIA EARTHQUAKE: EMERGENCY FUNDRAISING CAMPAIGN TO RAISE FUNDS FOR THOSE IMPACTED BY THE DEV

New programs

NONE

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

79¢

Per its F2024 T3010, 79¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.

Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 87¢ among those its size ($1M–$10M).

this charity 79¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

21%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

0.8 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Charities its size ($1M–$10M, 9,072): median 0.5 yr; 43% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$2.5M

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

23%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

0%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    23%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    0%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    77%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.

Overall rating

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

★★★★

Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Results reporting

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Demonstrated impact

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

13 directors reported · 13 of 13at arm's length

  • WESTLAND, AMYCHAIRPERSONarm's length
  • CAMPEAU, ALLEN BRETTSECRETARYarm's length
  • KUPFERSCHMIDT, ANTHONYDIRECTORarm's length
  • VILCOCQ, CHRISTINEDIRECTORarm's length
  • ALUMBO, DANIELDIRECTORarm's length
  • HEFLER, DONALDDIRECTORarm's length
  • AZZOLIN, JENVIEVDIRECTORarm's length
  • LALJI, KAHIR NOODINVICE-CHAIRarm's length
  • SMITH, KORYDIRECTORarm's length
  • CHROSTOWSKI, MICHAELDIRECTORarm's length
Show all 13 directors
  • CHEESMAN, SIMONDIRECTORarm's length
  • MORPHET, WILLIAMTREASURERarm's length
  • SHIMON, KYLEDIRECTORarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗

Helpage Canada - — 79¢ of each $1 to programs