JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT OF BRITISH COLUMBIA
Charitable organizationSupport of schools and education·570 - 475 GEORGIA ST W · VANCOUVER, BC · V6B 4M9·BN 118976166RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-06-30
Cents to cause T1
60¢
of each dollar spent, to programs
Operating overhead T1
40%
typical range 5–35%
Reserves T1
0.9 yr
of program spending, in cash and investments
Revenue T1
$4.0M
Charity Intelligence ★★★ · T2
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
Common questions
How do I donate to Junior Achievement of British Columbia?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Junior Achievement of British Columbia a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 118976166RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Junior Achievement of British Columbia located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 570 - 475 GEORGIA ST W, VANCOUVER, BC, V6B 4M9. Source.
What does Junior Achievement of British Columbia do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "• BE ENTREPRENEURIAL GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS LEARN HOW TO DEVELOP A BUSINESS IDEA AND PLAN. • BUSINESS OF OUR OWN GRADES 6-8 STUDENTS PLAN AND OPERATE A RETAIL BUSINESS. • CAREER SPEAKER GRADES 6-10-STUDENTS COME TOGETHER WITH CAREER MENTORS TO LEARN PATHWAYS. • COMANY PROGRAM GRADES 10-12-STUDENT TEAMS DEVELOP…" Full program description.
How much of Junior Achievement of British Columbia's spending goes to programs?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 60¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is Junior Achievement of British Columbia?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $4.0M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $1M–$10M revenue band, alongside 9,072 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
• BE ENTREPRENEURIAL GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS LEARN HOW TO DEVELOP A BUSINESS IDEA AND PLAN. • BUSINESS OF OUR OWN GRADES 6-8 STUDENTS PLAN AND OPERATE A RETAIL BUSINESS. • CAREER SPEAKER GRADES 6-10-STUDENTS COME TOGETHER WITH CAREER MENTORS TO LEARN PATHWAYS. • COMANY PROGRAM GRADES 10-12-STUDENT TEAMS DEVELOP AND OPERATE A BUSINESS. • DISCOVER YOUR PITCH GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS PARTICIPATE IN AN INVESTOR PRESENTATION PITCH COMPETITION. • DOLLARS WITH SENSE GRADES 7-9-STUDENTS LEARN MONEY MANAGEMENT. • ECONOMICS FOR SUCCESS GRADES 8-10-STUDENTS DISCOVER THE BENEFITS OF STAYING IN S… Show more
• BE ENTREPRENEURIAL GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS LEARN HOW TO DEVELOP A BUSINESS IDEA AND PLAN. • BUSINESS OF OUR OWN GRADES 6-8 STUDENTS PLAN AND OPERATE A RETAIL BUSINESS. • CAREER SPEAKER GRADES 6-10-STUDENTS COME TOGETHER WITH CAREER MENTORS TO LEARN PATHWAYS. • COMANY PROGRAM GRADES 10-12-STUDENT TEAMS DEVELOP AND OPERATE A BUSINESS. • DISCOVER YOUR PITCH GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS PARTICIPATE IN AN INVESTOR PRESENTATION PITCH COMPETITION. • DOLLARS WITH SENSE GRADES 7-9-STUDENTS LEARN MONEY MANAGEMENT. • ECONOMICS FOR SUCCESS GRADES 8-10-STUDENTS DISCOVER THE BENEFITS OF STAYING IN SCHOOL AND CAREER PLANNING. • INVESTMENT STRATEGIES GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS EXPLORE WAYS TO SAVE AND INVEST. • JABC TECHWORKS GRADES 8-10-STUDENTS EXPLORE TECH-RELATED AND TECH-ENABLED CAREERS. • MORE THAN MONEY GRADES 4-5-INTRODUCES STUDENTS TO THE ROLE OF MONEY. • OUR BUSINESS WORLD GRADES 5-6-STUDENTS EXPLORE HOW BUSINESSES ARE CREATED • PERSONAL FINANCE GRADES 11-12-STUDENTS LEARN KEY ELEMENTS OF BUDGETING • WORLD OF CHOICES GRADES 6-10-STUDENTS EXPLORE CAREER OPTIONS
New programs
• BE ENTREPRENEURIAL GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS LEARN HOW TO DEVELOP A BUSINESS IDEA AND PLAN. • BUSINESS OF OUR OWN GRADES 6-8 STUDENTS PLAN AND OPERATE A RETAIL BUSINESS. • CAREER SPEAKER GRADES 6-10-STUDENTS COME TOGETHER WITH CAREER MENTORS TO LEARN PATHWAYS. • COMANY PROGRAM GRADES 10-12-STUDENT TEAMS DEVELOP AND OPERATE A BUSINESS. • DISCOVER YOUR PITCH GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS PARTICIPATE IN AN INVESTOR PRESENTATION PITCH COMPETITION. • DOLLARS WITH SENSE GRADES 7-9-STUDENTS LEARN MONEY MANAGEMENT. • ECONOMICS FOR SUCCESS GRADES 8-10-STUDENTS DISCOVER THE BENEFITS OF STAYING IN S… Show more
• BE ENTREPRENEURIAL GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS LEARN HOW TO DEVELOP A BUSINESS IDEA AND PLAN. • BUSINESS OF OUR OWN GRADES 6-8 STUDENTS PLAN AND OPERATE A RETAIL BUSINESS. • CAREER SPEAKER GRADES 6-10-STUDENTS COME TOGETHER WITH CAREER MENTORS TO LEARN PATHWAYS. • COMANY PROGRAM GRADES 10-12-STUDENT TEAMS DEVELOP AND OPERATE A BUSINESS. • DISCOVER YOUR PITCH GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS PARTICIPATE IN AN INVESTOR PRESENTATION PITCH COMPETITION. • DOLLARS WITH SENSE GRADES 7-9-STUDENTS LEARN MONEY MANAGEMENT. • ECONOMICS FOR SUCCESS GRADES 8-10-STUDENTS DISCOVER THE BENEFITS OF STAYING IN SCHOOL AND CAREER PLANNING. • INVESTMENT STRATEGIES GRADES 10-12-STUDENTS EXPLORE WAYS TO SAVE AND INVEST. • JABC TECHWORKS GRADES 8-10-STUDENTS EXPLORE TECH-RELATED AND TECH-ENABLED CAREERS. • MORE THAN MONEY GRADES 4-5-INTRODUCES STUDENTS TO THE ROLE OF MONEY. • OUR BUSINESS WORLD GRADES 5-6-STUDENTS EXPLORE HOW BUSINESSES ARE CREATED • PERSONAL FINANCE GRADES 11-12-STUDENTS LEARN KEY ELEMENTS OF BUDGETING • WORLD OF CHOICES GRADES 6-10-STUDENTS EXPLORE CAREER OPTIONS
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
60¢
Per its F2024 T3010, 60¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.
Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 87¢ among those its size ($1M–$10M).
this charity 60¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
40%
Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
0.9 yr
Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.
Charities its size ($1M–$10M, 9,072): median 0.5 yr; 43% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$4.0M
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)5%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
0%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
5%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
0%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
95%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-06-30 | $3.0M | 57¢ | 43% | 1.6 yr |
| 2020-06-30 | $2.2M | 60¢ | 40% | 1.4 yr |
| 2021-06-30 | $2.8M | 60¢ | 40% | 1.7 yr |
| 2022-06-30 | $3.5M | 49¢ | 51% | 1.4 yr |
| 2023-06-30 | $3.8M | 59¢ | 41% | 0.9 yr |
| 2024-06-30 | $4.0M | 60¢ | 40% | 0.9 yr |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.
Overall rating
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence★★★
Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Results reporting
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Demonstrated impact
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT OF PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND
CHARLOTTETOWN, PE·revenue $522K
84¢to programs · T1
- COLUMBIA COLLEGE
VANCOUVER, BC·revenue $48.7M
94¢to programs · T1
- JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT OF NEW BRUNSWICK INC. / JEUNES ENTREPRISES DU NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK INC.
FREDERICTON, NB·revenue $886K
46¢to programs · T1
- JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT OF NORTHERN & EASTERN ONTARIO
PETERBOROUGH, ON·revenue $609K
94¢to programs · T1
- JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT OF SOUTH WESTERN ONTARIO INC.
LONDON, ON·revenue $1.3M
39¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
13 directors reported · 13 of 13at arm's length
- GEYER, PAULCHAIRarm's length
- ANTON, OLIN RVICE CHAIRarm's length
- CHAN, SANDYTREASURERarm's length
- SPENCER, KEITHPAST CHAIRarm's length
- BANICK, STEVENarm's length
- CAMPBELL, CURTISarm's length
- CHISHOLM, ROBYNarm's length
- COLE, MICHAELarm's length
- COMAN-WALKER, ABIarm's length
- HUNG, CRYSTALarm's length
Show all 13 directors
- LADAK, OMARarm's length
- EYK, STEPHANIEarm's length
- LEE, LESLIEarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗