THE CALL OF THE POOR INC
Private foundationFoundations·PO BOX 117 · ST-NORBERT, MB · R3V 1L5·BN 119218162RR0001
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31
Disbursed to charities T1
97%
of spending, to other registered charities
Operating overhead T1
100%
typical range 5–35%
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$807K
Charity Intelligence ★★ · T2
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
This is a foundation: it mostly grants money to other charities, so program-spending ratios are the wrong lens. We show the share of spending disbursed to qualified donees instead.
This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.
Common questions
How do I donate to The Call of the Poor Inc?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is The Call of the Poor Inc a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 119218162RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is The Call of the Poor Inc located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is PO BOX 117, ST-NORBERT, MB, R3V 1L5. Source.
What does The Call of the Poor Inc do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "THE CALL OF THE POOR (L'APPEL DU PAUVRE) RAISED FUNDS FROM INDIVIDUALS RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS AND CORPORATIONS BY MEANS OF DIRECT MAIL. THE PROCEEDS WERE USED TO FUND 76 RELIEF AND DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS IN 21 THIRD WORLD COUNTRIES. THESE PROJECTS WHICH WERE CARRIED OUT BY CANADIAN RELIGIOUS AND HUMANITARIAN…" Full program description.
How much does The Call of the Poor Inc disburse to other charities?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 97% of its spending went to other registered charities (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is The Call of the Poor Inc?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $807K (F2024).
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
THE CALL OF THE POOR (L'APPEL DU PAUVRE) RAISED FUNDS FROM INDIVIDUALS RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS AND CORPORATIONS BY MEANS OF DIRECT MAIL. THE PROCEEDS WERE USED TO FUND 76 RELIEF AND DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS IN 21 THIRD WORLD COUNTRIES. THESE PROJECTS WHICH WERE CARRIED OUT BY CANADIAN RELIGIOUS AND HUMANITARIAN ORGANIZATIONS INVOLVED PROVIDING RELIEF TO THE DESTITUTE AND STARVING OF THOSE COUNTRIES AND TO HELP THEM BECOME SELF-SUPPORTING BY PROVIDING THEM WITH FOOD CLOTHING SHELTER MEDICAL AID EDUCATION AND THE EQUIPMENT REQUIRED TO EARN A DECENT LIVING.
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
Disbursed to qualified donees
T1 · computed (open data)97%
Per its F2024 T3010, this share of total spending went to other registered charities.
T3010 line 5050 ÷ 5100 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
100%
Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$807K
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)87%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
0%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
87%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
0%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
13%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-12-31 | $357K | 100% | — |
| 2020-12-31 | $684K | 100% | — |
| 2021-12-31 | $981K | 100% | — |
| 2022-12-31 | $450K | 100% | — |
| 2023-12-31 | $628K | 100% | — |
| 2024-12-31 | $807K | 100% | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
Program-spending share is left out: a foundation's lens is what it disburses, which the annual releases don't break out by year. From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.
Overall rating
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence★★
Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Results reporting
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Demonstrated impact
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- THE CAROL AND MORTON RAPP FOUNDATION
TORONTO, ON·revenue $1.1M
89%disbursed · T1
- Healthier Tomorrows Individual Giving Program
STELLARTON, NS·revenue $409K
100%disbursed · T1
- THE UNITED CHURCH OF CANADA FOUNDATION / FONDATION DE L'ÉGLISE UNIE DU CANADA
NORTH YORK, ON·revenue $9.2M
85%disbursed · T1
- UNIFOR SOCIAL JUSTICE FUND / LE FONDS DE JUSTICE SOCIALE D'UNIFOR
NORTH YORK, ON·revenue $3.2M
49%disbursed · T1
- THE SHARING FOUNDATION
NORTH YORK, ON·revenue $1.9M
99%disbursed · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
3 directors reported · 1 of 3at arm's length
- KENNY, LISEPRESIDENT/DIRECTORnot at arm's length
- ROULEAU, REYNALDVICE-PRESIDENT/DIRECTORarm's length
- KENNY, RICHARDDIRECTORnot at arm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗