Skip to main content

UNITED WAY SOUTHERN VANCOUVER ISLAND

Public foundationFoundations·4543 CANADA WAY · BURNABY, BC · V5G 4T4·BN 119278224RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Disbursed to charities T1

49%

of spending, to other registered charities

Operating overhead T1

91%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

27.5 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$4.8M

Charity Intelligence ★★★ · T2

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

This is a foundation: it mostly grants money to other charities, so program-spending ratios are the wrong lens. We show the share of spending disbursed to qualified donees instead.

Common questions

How do I donate to United Way Southern Vancouver Island?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is United Way Southern Vancouver Island a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 119278224RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is United Way Southern Vancouver Island located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 4543 CANADA WAY, BURNABY, BC, V5G 4T4. Source.

What does United Way Southern Vancouver Island do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "WE ARE COMMITTED TO MEANINGFUL ENGAGEMENT COLLABORATION AND COLLECTIVE ACTION TO FIND SOLUTIONS TO SYSTEMIC ISSUES THAT LEAD US TO A BETTER FUTURE AND STRONGER LOCAL COMMUNITIES. OUR MANDATE IS LOCAL; EVERYTHING WE DO IS FOR THE BETTERMENT OF OUR REGION. WE FOCUS ON COLLABORATION SHARED EXPERTISE AND…" Full program description.

How much does United Way Southern Vancouver Island disburse to other charities?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 49% of its spending went to other registered charities (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is United Way Southern Vancouver Island?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $4.8M (F2024).

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

WE ARE COMMITTED TO MEANINGFUL ENGAGEMENT COLLABORATION AND COLLECTIVE ACTION TO FIND SOLUTIONS TO SYSTEMIC ISSUES THAT LEAD US TO A BETTER FUTURE AND STRONGER LOCAL COMMUNITIES. OUR MANDATE IS LOCAL; EVERYTHING WE DO IS FOR THE BETTERMENT OF OUR REGION. WE FOCUS ON COLLABORATION SHARED EXPERTISE AND SOLUTIONS-BASED IMPACT. OUR THREE AREAS OF ACTION ARE SUPPORTING: SENIORS- FROM ISOLATION TO CONNECTION FAMILIES - FROM POVERTY TO POSSIBILITY AND MENTAL HEALTH AND/OR ADDICTIONS - BUILDING STRONG HEALTHY COMMUNITIES. UWSVI ENGAGES AND MOBILIZES OUR DIVERSE LOCAL COMMUNITIES TO SET PRIORITIES… Show more

WE ARE COMMITTED TO MEANINGFUL ENGAGEMENT COLLABORATION AND COLLECTIVE ACTION TO FIND SOLUTIONS TO SYSTEMIC ISSUES THAT LEAD US TO A BETTER FUTURE AND STRONGER LOCAL COMMUNITIES. OUR MANDATE IS LOCAL; EVERYTHING WE DO IS FOR THE BETTERMENT OF OUR REGION. WE FOCUS ON COLLABORATION SHARED EXPERTISE AND SOLUTIONS-BASED IMPACT. OUR THREE AREAS OF ACTION ARE SUPPORTING: SENIORS- FROM ISOLATION TO CONNECTION FAMILIES - FROM POVERTY TO POSSIBILITY AND MENTAL HEALTH AND/OR ADDICTIONS - BUILDING STRONG HEALTHY COMMUNITIES. UWSVI ENGAGES AND MOBILIZES OUR DIVERSE LOCAL COMMUNITIES TO SET PRIORITIES FOR COLLECTIVE ACTION AND ADVANCE COMMUNITY IMPACT BY: (A) INFLUENCING PUBLIC ATTITUDES SYSTEMS AND POLICIES; (B) FOCUSING ON UNDERLYING CAUSES OF SOCIAL ISSUES; (C) STRENGTHENING OUR NETWORK OF SERVICES AND THE CAPACITYOF LOCAL NON-PROFITS CHARITIES AND THE COMMUNITY; AND (D) ENGAGING AND MOBILIZING OUR COMMUNITIES' FINANCIAL RESOURCES INFLUENCE AND KNOWLEDGE.

New programs

FOUNDATIONAL TO OUR WORK WILL BE THE INTEGRATION OF DIVERSITY EQUITY INCLUSION AND ACCESSIBILITY (DEIA) PRICIPLES AND ACTIONS IN EVERYTHING WE DO. IT IS UNDERSTOOD THAT THIS WORK WILL BE ONGOING AND REQUIRE A CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT APPROACH. ADDITIONALLY AS PARTOF OUR COMMITMENT TO RECONCILIATION WE WILL DEVELOP A COMPREHENSIVE ENGAGEMENT AND RELATIONSHIP-BUILDING PLAN TO ESTABLISH AND IMPROVE UWSVI'S RELATIONSHIPS WITH FIRST NATIONS INDIGENOUS AND MÉTIS PEOPLES AND SUPPORT SERVICES THAT REFLECT THE COMMUNITIES' NEEDS AND REQUESTS.

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Disbursed to qualified donees

T1 · computed (open data)

49%

Per its F2024 T3010, this share of total spending went to other registered charities.

T3010 line 5050 ÷ 5100 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

91%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

27.5 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Charities its size ($1M–$10M, 9,072): median 0.5 yr; 43% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$4.8M

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

34%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

2%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    34%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    2%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    65%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.

Overall rating

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

★★★

Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Results reporting

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Demonstrated impact

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

20 directors reported · 20 of 20at arm's length

  • ARORA, LISACHAIRarm's length
  • MCKERRELL, STEVEDIRECTORarm's length
  • AKARI, SAMERDIRECTORarm's length
  • SCHMID, VICTORIAVICE CHAIRarm's length
  • MACNEIL, KATHRYNDIRECTORarm's length
  • JAMINE, DADACHANJIDIRECTORarm's length
  • MERCER, KIRKDIRECTORarm's length
  • WILLIAMS, BRUCEDIRECTORarm's length
  • GEORGE, DEBORAHDIRECTORarm's length
  • HUTCHINSON, JON JDIRECTORarm's length
Show all 20 directors
  • HARRINGTON, MOLLYDIRECTORarm's length
  • GALLAGHER, ALANATREASURERarm's length
  • ZUSSMAN, DAVIDDIRECTORarm's length
  • KIKAK, TONYDIRECTORarm's length
  • ROTCHFORD, DARLENEDIRECTORarm's length
  • WHITESIDE, KEVINDIRECTORarm's length
  • HALL, KEVINDIRECTORarm's length
  • KERRONE, KIMDIRECTORarm's length
  • HALL, JAMIEDIRECTORarm's length
  • DICK, FLORENCEDIRECTORarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗

United Way Southern Vancouver… — 49% granted to charities