AFRICAN SCHOLARS INITIATIVE
Charitable organizationSupport of schools and education·220B ROWMONT BLVD NW · CALGARY, AB · T3L 0H3·BN 725328736RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31
Cents to cause T1
0¢
of each dollar spent, to programs
Operating overhead T1
0%
typical range 5–35%
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$0K
not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
Common questions
How do I donate to African Scholars Initiative?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is African Scholars Initiative a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 725328736RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is African Scholars Initiative located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 220B ROWMONT BLVD NW, CALGARY, AB, T3L 0H3. Source.
What does African Scholars Initiative do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "The charity organized series of online webinars which attracted attendees from across the world. The webinars provide information about graduate study in Canadian universities as well as information relating to application for Canadian study permits. The charity also provided mentorship to foreign students of…" Full program description.
How much of African Scholars Initiative's spending goes to programs?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 0¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is African Scholars Initiative?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $0K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
The charity organized series of online webinars which attracted attendees from across the world. The webinars provide information about graduate study in Canadian universities as well as information relating to application for Canadian study permits. The charity also provided mentorship to foreign students of African descent pursuing graduate education in Canada by pairing them with mentors who are academics of African descent in Canadian universities.
New programs
The charity is continuing with the webinars and mentorship programs executed in the previous year.
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
0¢
Per its F2024 T3010, 0¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.
Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 89¢ among those its size (under $1M).
this charity 0¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
0%
Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$0K
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2022–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-03-31 | $25K | — | — | — |
| 2023-03-31 | $0K | — | — | — |
| 2024-03-31 | $0K | 0¢ | 0% | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.
Board of directors
2 directors reported · 2 of 2at arm's length
- Christian, GideonPresidentarm's length
- Ogunyemi, DayoDirectorarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗