Skip to main content

VANCOUVER ISLAND LOCAL HISTORY SOCIETY

Charitable organizationPublic amenities·201 - 1035 BELMONT AVE · VICTORIA, BC · V8S 3T5·BN 741473714RR0001

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Give via CanadaHelps ↗We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

94¢

of each dollar spent, to programs

Operating overhead T1

5%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

0.4 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$-2K

not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

Common questions

How do I donate to Vancouver Island Local History Society?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Vancouver Island Local History Society a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 741473714RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Vancouver Island Local History Society located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 201 - 1035 BELMONT AVE, VICTORIA, BC, V8S 3T5. Source.

What does Vancouver Island Local History Society do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "WE SUPPORT RESEARCH AND EDUCATION ABOUT VANCOUVER ISLAND HISTORY THROUGH THE DELIVERY OF EVENTS SUCH AS WALKING TOURS AND PUBLIC LECTURES. WE ADVANCE ENGAGEMENT WITH THE FIELD OF VANCOUVER ISLAND HISTORY BY CREATING AND DELIVERING PROGRAMS AND DISPLAYS SUCH AS MUSEUM EXHIBITS. WE CHARGE ADMISSION TO EVENTS AND…" Full program description.

How much of Vancouver Island Local History Society's spending goes to programs?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 94¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is Vancouver Island Local History Society?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $-2K (F2024).

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

WE SUPPORT RESEARCH AND EDUCATION ABOUT VANCOUVER ISLAND HISTORY THROUGH THE DELIVERY OF EVENTS SUCH AS WALKING TOURS AND PUBLIC LECTURES. WE ADVANCE ENGAGEMENT WITH THE FIELD OF VANCOUVER ISLAND HISTORY BY CREATING AND DELIVERING PROGRAMS AND DISPLAYS SUCH AS MUSEUM EXHIBITS. WE CHARGE ADMISSION TO EVENTS AND SEEK DONATIONS FROM THE PUBLIC TO SUPPORT OUR WORK.

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

94¢

Per its F2024 T3010, 94¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.

Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities.

this charity 94¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

5%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

0.4 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Sector quartiles: 0.4 yr / 0.8 yr / 7.5 yr (p25 / median / p90).

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$-2K

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.

Board of directors

5 directors reported · 5 of 5at arm's length

  • DEAN, MISAOTREASURERarm's length
  • GREENAWAY, AIMEEVICE PRESIDENTarm's length
  • PICKARD, RICHARDDIRECTOR AT LARGEarm's length
  • DUPONT, CHRISTEAHSECRETARYarm's length
  • BLACK, KELLYPRESIDENTarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗