Skip to main content

ARANYA REFUGE THERAVADA BUDDHIST MONASTERY

Charitable organizationOther religions·4013 MAGDELIN ST · VICTORIA, BC · V8N 3M5·BN 764739942RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-07-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

—

not in this filing

Operating overhead T1

—

not in this filing

Reserves T1

—

not in this filing

Revenue T1

$24K

not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.

Common questions

How do I donate to Aranya Refuge Theravada Buddhist Monastery?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Aranya Refuge Theravada Buddhist Monastery a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 764739942RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Aranya Refuge Theravada Buddhist Monastery located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 4013 MAGDELIN ST, VICTORIA, BC, V8N 3M5. Source.

What does Aranya Refuge Theravada Buddhist Monastery do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "ESTABLISHED OUR SECOND MONASTERY FOR A MONTH FROM MARCH 16- APRIL 15 2024 LAY BUDDHIST PRACTITIONERS WERE INVITED TO VISIT THE MONASTERY AS DAY VISITORS AND AS OVERNIGHT GUESTS LAY PRACTITIONERS RECEIVED TEACHINGS FROM THE SENIOR MONK AND WERE SUPPORTED BY BOTH MONKS TO ENGAGE IN THERAVADA BUDDHIST PRACTICE SUCH…" Full program description.

How big is Aranya Refuge Theravada Buddhist Monastery?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $24K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

ESTABLISHED OUR SECOND MONASTERY FOR A MONTH FROM MARCH 16- APRIL 15 2024 LAY BUDDHIST PRACTITIONERS WERE INVITED TO VISIT THE MONASTERY AS DAY VISITORS AND AS OVERNIGHT GUESTS LAY PRACTITIONERS RECEIVED TEACHINGS FROM THE SENIOR MONK AND WERE SUPPORTED BY BOTH MONKS TO ENGAGE IN THERAVADA BUDDHIST PRACTICE SUCH AS OFFERING FOOD TO MONASTICS MEDITATING CHANTING AND STUDYING THERAVADA BUDDHIST REACHING MONASTERY ACTIVITIES ARE OFFERED FREELY AT NO COST TO THE PUBLIC THERAVADA BUDDHIST TEACHINGS OFFERED THROUGH AN ONLINE PLATFORM AT NO COST TO THE PUBLIC.

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not computable from this filing.

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$24K

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

30%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

0%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    30%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    0%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    70%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

6 directors reported · 4 of 6at arm's length

  • BALFOUR, JACQUI KTREASURERarm's length
  • CALLAGHAN, RUSSELL CVICE PRESIDENTarm's length
  • BROWN, BROCK EPRESIDENTnot at arm's length
  • FUKUSHIMA, JUNKO JSECRETARYnot at arm's length
  • DEGRAFF, GEOFFREY FDIRECTORarm's length
  • PIRBHAI, IRFANDIRECTORarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗

Aranya Refuge Theravada… — F2024 filing, finances & board