Merit Award Bursary Program Incorporated
Charitable organizationSupport of schools and education·2400-333 BAY ST · PO BOX 20-BAY ADELAIDE CENTRE · TORONTO, ON · M5H 2T6·BN 814537882RR0001
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-04-30
Cents to cause T1
76¢
of each dollar spent, to programs
Operating overhead T1
24%
typical range 5–35%
Reserves T1
0.7 yr
of program spending, in cash and investments
Revenue T1
$500K
Charity Intelligence ★★★ · T2
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
Common questions
How do I donate to Merit Award Bursary Program Incorporated?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Merit Award Bursary Program Incorporated a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 814537882RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Merit Award Bursary Program Incorporated located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 2400-333 BAY ST, PO BOX 20-BAY ADELAIDE CENTRE, TORONTO, ON, M5H 2T6. Source.
What does Merit Award Bursary Program Incorporated do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "MERIT AWARD BURSARY PROGRAM IS LEADING CONTRIBUTOR IN STUDENT RECOGNITION AND DISTRIBUTING FINANCIAL AWARDS TO SENIOR SCHOOL STUDENTS IN HIGH-NEEDS NEIGHBOURHOODS IN THE GREATER TORONTO AREA (GTA)." Full program description.
How much of Merit Award Bursary Program Incorporated's spending goes to programs?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 76¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is Merit Award Bursary Program Incorporated?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $500K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
MERIT AWARD BURSARY PROGRAM IS LEADING CONTRIBUTOR IN STUDENT RECOGNITION AND DISTRIBUTING FINANCIAL AWARDS TO SENIOR SCHOOL STUDENTS IN HIGH-NEEDS NEIGHBOURHOODS IN THE GREATER TORONTO AREA (GTA).
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
76¢
Per its F2024 T3010, 76¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.
Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 89¢ among those its size (under $1M).
this charity 76¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
24%
Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
0.7 yr
Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.
Charities its size (under $1M, 27,629): median 1 yr; 14% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$500K
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)22%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
0%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
22%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
0%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
78%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-04-30 | $249K | 71¢ | 29% | 1.3 yr |
| 2020-04-30 | $250K | 76¢ | 24% | 1.3 yr |
| 2021-04-30 | $380K | 79¢ | 21% | 1.1 yr |
| 2022-04-30 | $542K | 61¢ | 39% | 1.2 yr |
| 2023-04-30 | $489K | 58¢ | 42% | 1.1 yr |
| 2024-04-30 | $500K | 76¢ | 24% | 0.7 yr |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.
Overall rating
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence★★★
Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Results reporting
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Demonstrated impact
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- Masonic Higher Education Bursary Fund
EDMONTON, AB·revenue $388K
81¢to programs · T1
- AWARDS TRUST FUND OF THE THUNDER BAY CATHOLIC DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD
THUNDER BAY, ON·revenue $145K
—to programs · T1
- NEAR NORTH DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD CHARITY WORKS
NORTH BAY, ON·revenue $187K
92¢to programs · T1
- BURSARY FUND OF THE HASTINGS AND PRINCE EDWARD DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD
BELLEVILLE, ON·revenue $214K
100¢to programs · T1
- THE MASONIC BURSARY FUND
VANCOUVER, BC·revenue $281K
88¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
13 directors reported · 13 of 13at arm's length
- SMEENK, BRIANCHAIRMANarm's length
- WHANG, DANIELDIRECTORarm's length
- STEVENS, PENELOPEDIRECTORarm's length
- SANDOMIRSKY, DEBRADIRECTORarm's length
- HORNELL, PEGGYDIRECTORarm's length
- PILKEY, ROBINDIRECTORarm's length
- DYCK, JANINEDIRECTORarm's length
- JENKYN, ROBERTDIRECTORarm's length
- JASWAL, AVNEETDIRECTORarm's length
- IVEY, RICHARDDIRECTORarm's length
Show all 13 directors
- CHINNERY, WILLIAMDIRECTORarm's length
- LANSAKARA, LASITHDIRECTORarm's length
- ROY, MARTINTREASURERarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗