SHELTERS INTERNATIONAL DISASTER RESPONSE SOCIETY
Charitable organizationProtective health care·16 DOUGLAS AVE NE · LANGDON, AB · T0J 1X1·BN 823103858RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-01-15
Cents to cause T1
7023¢
of each dollar spent, to programs
Operating overhead T1
—
not in this filing
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$8.2M
not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
This filing's expense lines don't reconcile: program spending (line 5000) plus overhead (5010 + 5020) adds up to more than total spending (4950). Cents-to-cause and overhead can't both be right, and the filing doesn't say which — so this charity is left out of ranked search results for this filing year. We show both figures exactly as filed; read them together with this in mind, or check the public record ↗.
Common questions
How do I donate to Shelters International Disaster Response Society?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Shelters International Disaster Response Society a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 823103858RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Shelters International Disaster Response Society located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 16 DOUGLAS AVE NE, LANGDON, AB, T0J 1X1. Source.
What does Shelters International Disaster Response Society do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "Food for Ukraine Dried mixed vegetable soup mix: prepackaged in 2 Kilo bags/10 per box/24-32 boxes per pallet Shipments are typicaly20-40 pallets Vegetable mix varies as to what is available at the time." Full program description.
How much of Shelters International Disaster Response Society's spending goes to programs?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 7023¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is Shelters International Disaster Response Society?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $8.2M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $1M–$10M revenue band, alongside 9,072 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
Food for Ukraine Dried mixed vegetable soup mix: prepackaged in 2 Kilo bags/10 per box/24-32 boxes per pallet Shipments are typicaly20-40 pallets Vegetable mix varies as to what is available at the time.
New programs
Food for Ukraine
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
7023¢
As filed: 7023¢ of each dollar to programs — but this filing's expense lines don't reconcile (see note above).
Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 87¢ among those its size ($1M–$10M).
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$8.2M
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)1%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
0%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
1%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
0%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
99%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-01-15 | — | 87¢ | 13% | — |
| 2020-01-15 | $73K | 70¢ | 10% | — |
| 2021-01-15 | $71K | — | 10% | — |
| 2022-01-15 | $81K | 67¢ | 33% | — |
| 2023-01-15 | $26K | — | — | — |
| 2024-01-15 | $8.2M | 7023¢✱ | — | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- SPEROWAY
BURLINGTON, ON·revenue $8.3M3 of 5 stars, Charity Intelligence T2
95¢to programs · T1
- SOUTHWESTERN ONTARIO GLEANERS ORGANIZATION
LEAMINGTON, ON·revenue $646K
94¢to programs · T1
- Helicopters Without Borders
VANCOUVER, BC·revenue $1.1M
71¢to programs · T1
- FELIX Y. MANALO FOUNDATION INC.
TORONTO, ON·revenue $3.4M
98¢to programs · T1
- SHELTERBOX CANADA
OAKVILLE, ON·revenue $957K5 of 5 stars, Charity Intelligence T2
72¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
5 directors reported · 0 of 5at arm's length
- Allan, LauraPresidentnot at arm's length
- Frank, JamesDirectornot at arm's length
- Stitt, EleanorDirectornot at arm's length
- McQuillan, JudeDirectornot at arm's length
- Payl, KyhnDirectornot at arm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗