THE BACKMAN FAMILY (IN HONOUR OF DR. CHARLOTTE WHITEHEAD ROS
Private foundationFoundations·301 STEWARDSON WAY · NEW WESTMINSTER, BC · V3M 2A5·BN 842105280RR0001
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31
Disbursed to charities T1
—
not in this filing
Operating overhead T1
—
not in this filing
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$81K
not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
This is a foundation: it mostly grants money to other charities, so program-spending ratios are the wrong lens. We show the share of spending disbursed to qualified donees instead.
This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.
Common questions
How do I donate to The Backman Family (in Honour of Dr. Charlotte Whitehead Ros?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is The Backman Family (in Honour of Dr. Charlotte Whitehead Ros a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 842105280RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is The Backman Family (in Honour of Dr. Charlotte Whitehead Ros located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 301 STEWARDSON WAY, NEW WESTMINSTER, BC, V3M 2A5. Source.
What does The Backman Family (in Honour of Dr. Charlotte Whitehead Ros do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "THE OBJECTIVES OF THE ORGANIZATION ARE: A) TO FUND AND CARRY OUT ACTIVITIES AND PROGRAMS THAT ARE BENEFICIAL TO THE COMMUNITY AS A WHOLE IN A WAY IN WHICH THE LAW REGARDS AS CHARITABLE; B) TO DISBURSE FUNDS TO QUALIFIED DONEES; C) TO RECEIVE GIFTS BEQUESTS TRUSTS FUNDS AND PROPERTY TO HOLD INVEST DEVELOP…" Full program description.
How big is The Backman Family (in Honour of Dr. Charlotte Whitehead Ros?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $81K (F2024).
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
THE OBJECTIVES OF THE ORGANIZATION ARE: A) TO FUND AND CARRY OUT ACTIVITIES AND PROGRAMS THAT ARE BENEFICIAL TO THE COMMUNITY AS A WHOLE IN A WAY IN WHICH THE LAW REGARDS AS CHARITABLE; B) TO DISBURSE FUNDS TO QUALIFIED DONEES; C) TO RECEIVE GIFTS BEQUESTS TRUSTS FUNDS AND PROPERTY TO HOLD INVEST DEVELOP MANAGE ADMINISTER DISTRIBUTE FUNDS AND PROPERTY FOR THE OBJECTS OF THE ORGANIZATION AND FOR SUCH OTHER PURPOSES AND ACTIVITES AS ARE AUTHORIZED FOR REGISTERED CHARITIES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF THE CANADA CORPORATION ACT; AND D) TO CONDUCT ANY AND ALL ACTIVITIES AND EXERCISE ANY… Show more
THE OBJECTIVES OF THE ORGANIZATION ARE: A) TO FUND AND CARRY OUT ACTIVITIES AND PROGRAMS THAT ARE BENEFICIAL TO THE COMMUNITY AS A WHOLE IN A WAY IN WHICH THE LAW REGARDS AS CHARITABLE; B) TO DISBURSE FUNDS TO QUALIFIED DONEES; C) TO RECEIVE GIFTS BEQUESTS TRUSTS FUNDS AND PROPERTY TO HOLD INVEST DEVELOP MANAGE ADMINISTER DISTRIBUTE FUNDS AND PROPERTY FOR THE OBJECTS OF THE ORGANIZATION AND FOR SUCH OTHER PURPOSES AND ACTIVITES AS ARE AUTHORIZED FOR REGISTERED CHARITIES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF THE CANADA CORPORATION ACT; AND D) TO CONDUCT ANY AND ALL ACTIVITIES AND EXERCISE ANY AND ALL SUCH POWERS AS ARE NECESSARY FOR THE ACHIEVEMENT AND FURTHERANCE OF THE OBJECTS OF THE ORGANIZATION. THE ORGANIZATION WILL IDENTIFY QUALIFIED DONEES TO WHICH IT WILL DISBURSE FUNDS.
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
Disbursed to qualified donees
T1 · computed (open data)—
Not computable from this filing: the gifts-to-qualified-donees line (5050) or total (5100) is missing or outside the possible range.
T3010 line 5050 ÷ 5100 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$81K
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)0%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
0%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
0%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
0%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
100%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-12-31 | $1.4M | — | — |
| 2020-12-31 | $67K | — | — |
| 2021-12-31 | $67K | — | — |
| 2022-12-31 | $76K | — | — |
| 2023-12-31 | $448K | — | — |
| 2024-12-31 | $81K | — | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
Program-spending share is left out: a foundation's lens is what it disburses, which the annual releases don't break out by year. From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- THE MEL HOPPENHEIM FAMILY FOUNDATION /
MONTREAL, QC·revenue $833K
96%disbursed · T1
- Hultink Family Foundation
THOROLD, ON·revenue $773K
99%disbursed · T1
- THE PASS IT ALONG FOUNDATION
TORONTO, ON·revenue $1.1M
54%disbursed · T1
- THE MACDONALD FAMILY FOUNDATION
TORONTO, ON·revenue $200K
91%disbursed · T1
- T.J. RICE FAMILY FOUNDATION INC.
WINNIPEG, MB·revenue $165K
87%disbursed · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
4 directors reported · 1 of 4at arm's length
- BACKMAN, ANDREAPRESIDENTnot at arm's length
- ENDRESEN, DARRELLSECRETARY & TREASURERarm's length
- COOKE, VIRGINIADIRECTORnot at arm's length
- BACKMAN, ALPRESIDENTnot at arm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗