Skip to main content

CHABAD LUBAVITCH OF DOWNTOWN TORONTO

Charitable organizationJudaism·15A CLARENCE SQUARE · TORONTO, ON · M5V 1H1·BN 842413189RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

79¢

of each dollar spent, to programs

Operating overhead T1

0%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

0.3 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

—

not in this filing

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

Common questions

How do I donate to Chabad Lubavitch of Downtown Toronto?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Chabad Lubavitch of Downtown Toronto a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 842413189RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Chabad Lubavitch of Downtown Toronto located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 15A CLARENCE SQUARE, TORONTO, ON, M5V 1H1. Source.

What does Chabad Lubavitch of Downtown Toronto do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "THE ORGANIZATION CARRIES OUT RELIGIOUS SOCIAL AND CULTURAL PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES FOR THE JEWISH COMMUNITY IN DOWNTOWN TORONTO Chabad runs a vibrant lineup of community programs including adult education classes Hebrew school for youth mezuzah installations and hospital visitation. During major Jewish…" Full program description.

How much of Chabad Lubavitch of Downtown Toronto's spending goes to programs?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 79¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

THE ORGANIZATION CARRIES OUT RELIGIOUS SOCIAL AND CULTURAL PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES FOR THE JEWISH COMMUNITY IN DOWNTOWN TORONTO Chabad runs a vibrant lineup of community programs including adult education classes Hebrew school for youth mezuzah installations and hospital visitation. During major Jewish holidays such as Passover and the High Holy Days they organize full seders festive dinners holiday services and fundraising campaigns to engage and support the broader community. With special initiatives like Chabad Young Professionals events and Torah classes they cultivate … Show more

THE ORGANIZATION CARRIES OUT RELIGIOUS SOCIAL AND CULTURAL PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES FOR THE JEWISH COMMUNITY IN DOWNTOWN TORONTO Chabad runs a vibrant lineup of community programs including adult education classes Hebrew school for youth mezuzah installations and hospital visitation. During major Jewish holidays such as Passover and the High Holy Days they organize full seders festive dinners holiday services and fundraising campaigns to engage and support the broader community. With special initiatives like Chabad Young Professionals events and Torah classes they cultivate meaningful social and spiritual connections for Jews of all ages and backgrounds. Canada

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

79¢

Per its F2024 T3010, 79¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.

Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities.

this charity 79¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

0%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

0.3 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Sector quartiles: 0.4 yr / 0.8 yr / 7.5 yr (p25 / median / p90).

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.

Board of directors

3 directors reported · 0 of 3at arm's length

  • CHAIKIN, MENDEL MCPRESIDENTnot at arm's length
  • DEITSCH, NEHEMYAnot at arm's length
  • GOLDBERG, ZEVnot at arm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗

Chabad Lubavitch of Downtown… — 79¢ of each $1 to programs