Skip to main content

AMISTAD CANADA

Charitable organizationOrganizations relieving poverty·302 - 33 ELMHURST AVE · NORTH YORK, ON · M2N 6G8·BN 857317259RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

—

not in this filing

Operating overhead T1

—

not in this filing

Reserves T1

—

not in this filing

Revenue T1

$566K

not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.

Common questions

How do I donate to Amistad Canada?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Amistad Canada a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 857317259RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Amistad Canada located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 302 - 33 ELMHURST AVE, NORTH YORK, ON, M2N 6G8. Source.

What does Amistad Canada do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "1) CDN EDUCATION PROJECT: OUR AGENT LA BIBLIOTECA DE SMA AFTER-SCHOOL EDUCATION BOOKS & SCHOLARSHIPS. START 2011. 2) UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIPS: AGENT JÓVENES ADELANTE PROVIDES TUITION ASSISTANCE & MENTORING FOR DISADVANTAGED STUDENTS. START 2013 3) BURSARIES & CAREER DEVELOPMENT FOR OPERA STUDENTS; AGENT OPERA DE SAN…" Full program description.

How big is Amistad Canada?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $566K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

1) CDN EDUCATION PROJECT: OUR AGENT LA BIBLIOTECA DE SMA AFTER-SCHOOL EDUCATION BOOKS & SCHOLARSHIPS. START 2011. 2) UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIPS: AGENT JÓVENES ADELANTE PROVIDES TUITION ASSISTANCE & MENTORING FOR DISADVANTAGED STUDENTS. START 2013 3) BURSARIES & CAREER DEVELOPMENT FOR OPERA STUDENTS; AGENT OPERA DE SAN MIGUEL. START 2016 4) DENTAL/MEDICAL VAN PROGRAM FOR CHILDREN IN POOR RURAL COMMUNITIES; AGENT PATRONATO PRO NINOS; START 2017 5) AMISTAD ANGELS KITCHEN PROJECT: NUTRITION EDUCATION & FOOD PROGRAMS BASED IN SCHOOLS; AGENT: FEED THE HUNGRY. START 2017 6)COUNSELING & FINANCIAL ASSI… Show more

1) CDN EDUCATION PROJECT: OUR AGENT LA BIBLIOTECA DE SMA AFTER-SCHOOL EDUCATION BOOKS & SCHOLARSHIPS. START 2011. 2) UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIPS: AGENT JÓVENES ADELANTE PROVIDES TUITION ASSISTANCE & MENTORING FOR DISADVANTAGED STUDENTS. START 2013 3) BURSARIES & CAREER DEVELOPMENT FOR OPERA STUDENTS; AGENT OPERA DE SAN MIGUEL. START 2016 4) DENTAL/MEDICAL VAN PROGRAM FOR CHILDREN IN POOR RURAL COMMUNITIES; AGENT PATRONATO PRO NINOS; START 2017 5) AMISTAD ANGELS KITCHEN PROJECT: NUTRITION EDUCATION & FOOD PROGRAMS BASED IN SCHOOLS; AGENT: FEED THE HUNGRY. START 2017 6)COUNSELING & FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR FAMILIES WITH DISABLED OR ILL CHILDREN; AGENT NINOS INCAPACITADOS; START 2017 7) YOUTH EDUCATION PROJECT: ENGLISH LANGUAGE CLASSES & SCHOLARSHIPS; AGENT: LA CATLINA FOUNDATION; START 2018 8) EMPOWERMENT THROUGH EDUCATION: SCHOLARSHIPS FOR IMPOVERISHED GIRLS. AGENT: MUJERES EN CAMBIO; START: 2019 9) SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS AT A SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF; AGENT: ESCUELA DE EDUCATIÓN ESPECIAL DE SMA; START: 2019 10) SPECIAL ED SUPPORT: SCHOOL SUPPLIES SPECIALIZED EQUIPMENT & THERAPIST/TEACHERPAY. AGENT: UN NUEVO AMANECER; START 2019 11) MEALS FOR ELDERLY PEOPLE OF LIMITED MEANS; AGENT SO OTHERS MAY EAT(SOME); START 2020 12) CLEAN WATER ACCESS: PROVIDES EDUCATION AND ORGANIZATIONAL ASSISTANCE IN RURAL COMMUNITIES; AGENT CAMINOS DE AGUA; START 2022 13) CERVICAL CANCER SCREENING FOR WOMEN IN RURAL SETTING TESTING LAB ANALYSIS TREATMENT PLANS AS NEEDED. AGENT TEPOZ ROSA START 2022 14) PREPA PRO PROJECT; AGENT DON DIEGO COMMUNITY FOUNDATION WILL PROVIDE HELP FOR STUDENTS DEPRIVED OF NORMAL EDUCATION TO ATTAIN MORE EDUCATION. START APRIL 2023. 15) PRO MUSICA YOUTH ORCHESTRA PROJECT: SCHOLARSHIP STIPENDS TO SUPPORT PARTICIPATION IN THE YOUTH ORCHESTRA. AGENT: SAN MIGUEL EI GRANDE PRO MUSICA AC. START NOV 2023.

New programs

1) SUPPORT FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF NEURO-ROBOTIC DEVICES THAT ASSIST MOVEMENT FOR PEOPLE WTH CEREBRAL PALSY. AGENT ASOCIACION PRO PERSONAS CON PARALISIS CEREBRAL MEXICO CITY START JULY 2024 2) EDUCATION AND ORGANIZATION FOR BETTER NUTRITION AND HYGIENE PRACTICES FOR TSELTAL PEOPLE IN CHIAPAS STATE. AGENT IXIM A.C. START FEBRUARY 2024

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not computable from this filing.

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$566K

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

52%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

0%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    52%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    0%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    48%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

16 directors reported · 16 of 16at arm's length

  • NOVOGRODSKY, MYRADIRECTORarm's length
  • O'NEILL, MARKPRESIDENTarm's length
  • DINGWALL, WILLIAMDIRECTORarm's length
  • EBY, DALEDIRECTORarm's length
  • WINTERS, JACQUELINEDIRECTORarm's length
  • DILAMARTER, KEVINDIRECTORarm's length
  • OLIVER, JUNETREASURERarm's length
  • EDMONDS, PAULSECRETARYarm's length
  • KLIMAN, MELVINDIRECTORarm's length
  • JOHNSTON, TEDVICE PRESIDENTarm's length
Show all 16 directors
  • TAYLOR, BETTY ANNDIRECTORarm's length
  • HERNANDEZ SALINAS, ROGELIODIRECTORarm's length
  • GARCIA, IVANDIRECTORarm's length
  • Bradshaw, NancyDirectorarm's length
  • Ramirez, XochitlDirectorarm's length
  • Barajas Espinosa, Juan CarlosDirectorarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗

Amistad Canada — F2024 filing, finances & board