Skip to main content

RED DEER HOSPICE SOCIETY

Charitable organizationCore health care·99 ARNOT AVE · RED DEER, AB · T4R 3S6·BN 866450547RR0001

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Give via CanadaHelps ↗We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

96¢

of each dollar spent, to programs

Operating overhead T1

4%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

0.4 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$4.9M

Charity Intelligence ★★ · T2

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

Common questions

How do I donate to Red Deer Hospice Society?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Red Deer Hospice Society a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 866450547RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Red Deer Hospice Society located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 99 ARNOT AVE, RED DEER, AB, T4R 3S6. Source.

What does Red Deer Hospice Society do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "PALLIATIVE END OF LIFE CARE AT THE RESIDENTIAL 16 BED HOSPICE. COMMUNITY HOSPICE SUPPORT IN INDIVIDUALS OWN HOME. BEREAVEMENT SUPPORT GROUPS." Full program description.

How much of Red Deer Hospice Society's spending goes to programs?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 96¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is Red Deer Hospice Society?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $4.9M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $1M–$10M revenue band, alongside 9,072 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

PALLIATIVE END OF LIFE CARE AT THE RESIDENTIAL 16 BED HOSPICE. COMMUNITY HOSPICE SUPPORT IN INDIVIDUALS OWN HOME. BEREAVEMENT SUPPORT GROUPS.

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

96¢

Per its F2024 T3010, 96¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.

Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 87¢ among those its size ($1M–$10M).

this charity 96¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

4%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

0.4 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Charities its size ($1M–$10M, 9,072): median 0.5 yr; 43% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$4.9M

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

28%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

59%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    28%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    59%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    13%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.

Overall rating

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

★★

Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Results reporting

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Demonstrated impact

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

14 directors reported · 14 of 14at arm's length

  • BECK, DWAYNE ADIRECTORarm's length
  • CURRIE, LEILADIRECTORarm's length
  • GROSE, LYNETTE MDIRECTORarm's length
  • HYDE, PHIL MVICE CHAIRarm's length
  • LAMPARD, TOBY GDIRECTORarm's length
  • LODEWYK, WILLIAM DTREASURERarm's length
  • REBMAN, BRENDA CPAST CHAIRarm's length
  • RONSPIES, WENDI JDIRECTORarm's length
  • SORENSEN, EMILY CDIRECTORarm's length
  • SPURRELL, EDITH CANDACECHAIRarm's length
Show all 14 directors
  • SWEET, DEANDRE RMDIRECTORarm's length
  • TAYLOR, JERRI LEXECUTIVE DIRECTORarm's length
  • WARREN, NATALIE MSECRETARYarm's length
  • WILSON, BRYANSECRETARYarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗