Skip to main content

THE NEWMAN INSTITUTE OF CATHOLIC STUDIES

Charitable organizationSupport of religion·6071 RUE DE TERREBONNE · MONTREAL, QC · H4A 1B8·BN 867288045RR0001

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31

Give via CanadaHelps ↗We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

0¢

of each dollar spent, to programs

Operating overhead T1

100%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

—

not in this filing

Revenue T1

$0K

not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

Common questions

How do I donate to The Newman Institute of Catholic Studies?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is The Newman Institute of Catholic Studies a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 867288045RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is The Newman Institute of Catholic Studies located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 6071 RUE DE TERREBONNE, MONTREAL, QC, H4A 1B8. Source.

What does The Newman Institute of Catholic Studies do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "IN 2024 THROUGH ITS MEMBERS THE INSTITUTE AIDED IN THE OPERATION OF THE MINOR IN CATHOLIC STUDIES AND THE CHAIR OF CATHOLIC STUDIES AT MCGILL UNIVERSITY. IT ALSO COLLABORATED WITH THE NEWMAN ASSOCIATION IN HOLDING A NUMBER OF LECTURES AND SEMINARS ON SUBJECTS HAVING TO DO WITH THE CATHOLIC FAITH" Full program description.

How much of The Newman Institute of Catholic Studies's spending goes to programs?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 0¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is The Newman Institute of Catholic Studies?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $0K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

IN 2024 THROUGH ITS MEMBERS THE INSTITUTE AIDED IN THE OPERATION OF THE MINOR IN CATHOLIC STUDIES AND THE CHAIR OF CATHOLIC STUDIES AT MCGILL UNIVERSITY. IT ALSO COLLABORATED WITH THE NEWMAN ASSOCIATION IN HOLDING A NUMBER OF LECTURES AND SEMINARS ON SUBJECTS HAVING TO DO WITH THE CATHOLIC FAITH

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

0¢

Per its F2024 T3010, 0¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.

Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 89¢ among those its size (under $1M).

this charity 0¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

100%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$0K

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.

Board of directors

10 directors reported · 9 of 10at arm's length

  • ZUCCHI, JOHNDIRECTORarm's length
  • CERE, DANIELPRESIDENT
  • BOUDREAU, SPENCERDIRECTORarm's length
  • SABETTI, FILIPPODIRECTORarm's length
  • HEBERT, TERRENCEDIRECTORarm's length
  • MARTINEZ-KUHONTA, ERIKTREASURER/VICE PRESIDENTarm's length
  • NORGET, KRISTINDIRECTORarm's length
  • LABRECQUE, CORY ANDREWDIRECTORarm's length
  • ATANSI, CHUKWUEMEKA ANTHONYDIRECTORarm's length
  • LEAHY, ANNEDIRECTORarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗