INN FROM THE COLD SOCIETY
Charitable organizationOrganizations relieving poverty·110 - 706 7 AVE SW · CALGARY, AB · T2P 0Z1·BN 870823648RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31
Cents to cause T1
—
not in this filing
Operating overhead T1
—
not in this filing
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$10.4M
Charity Intelligence ★★★★★ A · T2
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.
Common questions
How do I donate to Inn From the Cold Society?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Inn From the Cold Society a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 870823648RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Inn From the Cold Society located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 110 - 706 7 AVE SW, CALGARY, AB, T2P 0Z1. Source.
What does Inn From the Cold Society do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "PROVIDE OVERNIGHT EMERGENCY SHELTER AND HOUSING TO HOMELESS FAMILIES. PROVIDE REFERRALS FOR COUNSELING AND HOUSING AS WELL AS PROVIDING FOOD AND CLOTHING TO ASSIST FAMILIES WITH OBTAINING AND SUBSTAINING HOUSING. PROVIDE FINANCIAL AND TRANSPORTATION SUPPORT TO FAMILIES SO THEY CAN ATTEND SCHOOL WORK TRAINING AND…" Full program description.
How big is Inn From the Cold Society?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $10.4M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $10M–$100M revenue band, alongside 1,776 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
PROVIDE OVERNIGHT EMERGENCY SHELTER AND HOUSING TO HOMELESS FAMILIES. PROVIDE REFERRALS FOR COUNSELING AND HOUSING AS WELL AS PROVIDING FOOD AND CLOTHING TO ASSIST FAMILIES WITH OBTAINING AND SUBSTAINING HOUSING. PROVIDE FINANCIAL AND TRANSPORTATION SUPPORT TO FAMILIES SO THEY CAN ATTEND SCHOOL WORK TRAINING AND APPOINTMENTS. FOR FAMILIES RESIDING IN THE SHELTER FOR EXTENDED PERIODS WE PROVIDE EARLY CHILDHOOD AND YOUTH DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS UP TO THE AGE OF 18. PROVIDING TRANSITIONAL AND AFFORDABLE HOUSING TO FAMILIES.
New programs
MOCCASSIN PATHWAYS TO PROVIDE AFFORDABLE FOR INDIGENOUS FAMILIES. - BUFFALO SPIRIT IS MENTAL HEALTH SUPPORT PROGRAM FOR INDIGENOUS YOUTH.
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
—
Not computable from this filing.
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$10.4M
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)26%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
29%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
26%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
29%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
45%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-03-31 | $7.9M | 80¢ | 20% | 0.8 yr |
| 2020-03-31 | $7.9M | 76¢ | 24% | 1 yr |
| 2021-03-31 | $8.6M | 78¢ | 22% | 1 yr |
| 2022-03-31 | $8.4M | 75¢ | 25% | 1.2 yr |
| 2023-03-31 | $8.6M | 78¢ | 22% | 0.8 yr |
| 2024-03-31 | $10.4M | — | — | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.
Overall rating
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence★★★★★
Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Results reporting
★ T2 · Charity IntelligenceA
How well the charity reports its own results (A+ to F).
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Demonstrated impact
★ T2 · Charity IntelligenceAverage
Charity Intelligence's assessment of impact per dollar.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- NEW STARTS FOR WOMEN INC.
RED LAKE, ON·revenue $1.6M
91¢to programs · T1
- INN FROM THE COLD INC
NEWMARKET, ON·revenue $4.3M
83¢to programs · T1
- THE PROGRESSIVE HOUSING SOCIETY
BURNABY, BC·revenue $14.5M
88¢to programs · T1
- HOPE MISSION
EDMONTON, AB·revenue $57.5M3 of 5 stars, Charity Intelligence T2
90¢to programs · T1
- SOUTHWEST YOUTH EMERGENCY SHELTER INC.
SWIFT CURRENT, SK·revenue $592K
86¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
14 directors reported · 14 of 14at arm's length
- GROULX, GENEVIEVECHAIRarm's length
- COLLINS, SEANVICE CHAIRarm's length
- LOUTH, DEANNATREASURERarm's length
- ENNIS, JASONSECRETARYarm's length
- ANDERSON, IANDIRECTORarm's length
- DOMINGO, LEELADIRECTORarm's length
- GRYGAR, CATHERINEDIRECTORarm's length
- HENRY, STEPHANIEDIRECTORarm's length
- MORLEY, HEATHERNON-VOTING DIRECTORarm's length
- JACKSON, BYRONDIRECTORarm's length
Show all 14 directors
- CHICHAK, MARYANNDIRECTORarm's length
- CORBETT, ALEXANDRESECRETARYarm's length
- JOHNSON, SUZIEDIRECTORarm's length
- MURRAY, PATRICKDIRECTORarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗