CHIBI TAIKO ASSOCIATION
Charitable organizationEducation in the arts·536 EAST 21ST STREET · NORTH VANCOUVER, BC · V7L 3C3·BN 883061178RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31
Cents to cause T1
100¢
of each dollar spent, to programs
Operating overhead T1
—
not in this filing
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$23K
not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
Common questions
How do I donate to Chibi Taiko Association?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Chibi Taiko Association a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 883061178RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Chibi Taiko Association located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 536 EAST 21ST STREET, NORTH VANCOUVER, BC, V7L 3C3. Source.
What does Chibi Taiko Association do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "Chibi Taiko is the first children’s taiko - Japanese drumming ensemble -- formed in Canada and one of a growing number of such groups in North America. Chibi means little kids in Japanese. The group’s mission is to pass on to the next generation of Canadian taiko players the qualities needed to build a cohesive and…" Full program description.
How much of Chibi Taiko Association's spending goes to programs?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 100¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is Chibi Taiko Association?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $23K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
Chibi Taiko is the first children’s taiko - Japanese drumming ensemble -- formed in Canada and one of a growing number of such groups in North America. Chibi means little kids in Japanese. The group’s mission is to pass on to the next generation of Canadian taiko players the qualities needed to build a cohesive and dynamic taiko ensemble: cooperation leadership responsibility and spirituality in addition to physical and musical discipline. Chibi Taiko was founded in the fall of 1993 with a goal of passing this unique and dynamic performing art on to the next generation of Canadian youth. I… Show more
Chibi Taiko is the first children’s taiko - Japanese drumming ensemble -- formed in Canada and one of a growing number of such groups in North America. Chibi means little kids in Japanese. The group’s mission is to pass on to the next generation of Canadian taiko players the qualities needed to build a cohesive and dynamic taiko ensemble: cooperation leadership responsibility and spirituality in addition to physical and musical discipline. Chibi Taiko was founded in the fall of 1993 with a goal of passing this unique and dynamic performing art on to the next generation of Canadian youth. In 2023 Chibi Taiko celebrated our 30th anniversary with a special concert in November. The membership is currently 18 youth ranging in age from 8 to 37 years of age who practice once a week and perform on a regular basis throughout the Vancouver area. The direct services provided by Chibi Taiko and the activities that take place are training workshops in drumming and performances for community and other groups. Training The training of Chibi Taiko includes: o 1 two hour practice a week on Sundays for Senior and Intermediate members o 1 one hour practice a week on Sundays for Beginner and Junior members o Special workshops to improve Taiko skills given by guest artists o Taiko Conferences a) Leadership Skills b) Teamwork c) History of Taiko As well Chibi Taiko performed for a variety of community events during the year.
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
100¢
Per its F2024 T3010, 100¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.
Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 89¢ among those its size (under $1M).
this charity 100¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$23K
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)16%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
13%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
16%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
13%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
71%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-12-31 | $10K | 92¢ | 0% | — |
| 2020-12-31 | $5K | 100¢ | — | — |
| 2021-12-31 | $4K | 100¢ | — | — |
| 2022-12-31 | $9K | 100¢ | — | — |
| 2023-12-31 | $65K | 201¢✱ | 0% | — |
| 2024-12-31 | $23K | 100¢ | — | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- RAGING ASIAN WOMEN TAIKO DRUMMERS
YORK, ON·revenue $383K
63¢to programs · T1
- FONDATION DU CAMP MUSICAL D'ASBESTOS INC.
ASBESTOS, QC·revenue $251K
97¢to programs · T1
- AFRICAN STAGES ASSOCIATION
SURREY, BC·revenue $172K
35¢to programs · T1
- VIVA! YOUTH SINGERS OF TORONTO INC.
TORONTO, ON·revenue $285K
55¢to programs · T1
- CANADIAN CHAMBER CHOIR INC.-
CALGARY, AB·revenue $112K
79¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
7 directors reported · 3 of 7at arm's length
- Homma, ShinobuArtistic Directornot at arm's length
- Armstrong, MatthewDirectorarm's length
- Horn, YukoDirectorarm's length
- Jang, BeckyDirectornot at arm's length
- Komori, LucilleTreasurernot at arm's length
- Riley, JordanVice Presidentnot at arm's length
- Uehara, NatassaSecretaryarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗