LOUIS RIEL INSTITUTE
Charitable organizationSupport of schools and education·103-150 HENRY AVE · WINNIPEG, MB · R3B 0J7·BN 884033200RR0001
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31
Cents to cause T1
—
not in this filing
Operating overhead T1
—
not in this filing
Reserves T1
—
not in this filing
Revenue T1
$4.9M
not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.
Common questions
How do I donate to Louis Riel Institute?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Louis Riel Institute a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 884033200RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Louis Riel Institute located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 103-150 HENRY AVE, WINNIPEG, MB, R3B 0J7. Source.
What does Louis Riel Institute do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "ADULT LEARNING CENTRE BURSARIES CULTURAL PROGRAMMING MMF PROVINCE OF MANITOBA LITTLE METIS SING WITH ME LOUIS RIEL VOCATIONAL COLLEGE MICHIF PROGRAMS MOBILE LITERACY AND ESSENTIAL SKILLS. MICHIF SUPPLEMENTARY METIS VETERANS METIS LANGUAGES CONSULATION AND ENGAGEMENT BEADED POPPY RIVER LOTS PSEP CREATING…" Full program description.
How big is Louis Riel Institute?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $4.9M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $1M–$10M revenue band, alongside 9,072 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
ADULT LEARNING CENTRE BURSARIES CULTURAL PROGRAMMING MMF PROVINCE OF MANITOBA LITTLE METIS SING WITH ME LOUIS RIEL VOCATIONAL COLLEGE MICHIF PROGRAMS MOBILE LITERACY AND ESSENTIAL SKILLS. MICHIF SUPPLEMENTARY METIS VETERANS METIS LANGUAGES CONSULATION AND ENGAGEMENT BEADED POPPY RIVER LOTS PSEP CREATING YOUR OWN FUTURE
New programs
METIS SKILLS FOR SUCCESS LISTEN HEAR OUR VOICES
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
—
Not computable from this filing.
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$4.9M
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)0%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
10%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
0%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
10%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
90%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-03-31 | $2.2M | 36¢ | 64% | 0.1 yr |
| 2020-03-31 | $3.1M | 35¢ | 65% | 0 yr |
| 2021-03-31 | $3.3M | 39¢ | 61% | 0.1 yr |
| 2022-03-31 | $3.9M | 49¢ | 51% | 0.5 yr |
| 2023-03-31 | $5.1M | — | — | — |
| 2024-03-31 | $4.9M | — | — | — |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- P.E.I. LITERACY ALLIANCE INC.
CHARLOTTETOWN, PE·revenue $994K
79¢to programs · T1
- LES AMIS CANADIENS D'ASSISTANCE DE PAUVRETE
MONTREAL, QC·revenue $3.2M
100¢to programs · T1
- Alphabétisation sans Limite / Literacy Unlimited
POINTE-CLAIRE, QC·revenue $373K
90¢to programs · T1
- THE GABRIEL DUMONT SCHOLARSHIP FOUNDATION II
SASKATOON, SK·revenue $522K
—to programs · T1
- NANAIMO LITERACY ASSOCIATION
NANAIMO, BC·revenue $545K
89¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
7 directors reported · 7 of 7at arm's length
- LEDOUX, JOANCHAIR PERSONarm's length
- BEAUDIN, DAVIDBOARD MEMBERarm's length
- TURNER, EDIEBOARD MEMBERarm's length
- BRANT, TRACYBOARD MEMBERarm's length
- FIDIERCHUCK, CATHERINEBOARD MEMBERarm's length
- CLARKE, LEABOARD MEMBERarm's length
- RIEL, BOBBOARD MEMBERarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗