Skip to main content

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES SOCIETY FOR THE PREVENTION OF CRUELTY

Charitable organizationAnimal welfare·118 FALCON RD · YELLOWKNIFE, NT · X1A 0G8·BN 886100791RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

1¢

of each dollar spent, to programs

Operating overhead T1

—

not in this filing

Reserves T1

36 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$780K

Charity Intelligence ★★★★ · T2

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

Common questions

How do I donate to Northwest Territories Society for the Prevention of Cruelty?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Northwest Territories Society for the Prevention of Cruelty a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 886100791RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Northwest Territories Society for the Prevention of Cruelty located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 118 FALCON RD, YELLOWKNIFE, NT, X1A 0G8. Source.

What does Northwest Territories Society for the Prevention of Cruelty do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "Providing a safe haven for animals in need Providing education to the public on the fair treatment of animals. Matching animals in need to suitable homes. Advocating for changes in laws to expand rights to animals." Full program description.

How much of Northwest Territories Society for the Prevention of Cruelty's spending goes to programs?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 1¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is Northwest Territories Society for the Prevention of Cruelty?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $780K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

Providing a safe haven for animals in need Providing education to the public on the fair treatment of animals. Matching animals in need to suitable homes. Advocating for changes in laws to expand rights to animals.

New programs

None.

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

1¢

Per its F2024 T3010, 1¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.

Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 89¢ among those its size (under $1M).

this charity 1¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

36 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Charities its size (under $1M, 27,629): median 1 yr; 14% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$780K

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

65%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

0%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    65%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    0%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    35%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.

Overall rating

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

★★★★

Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Results reporting

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Demonstrated impact

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

20 directors reported · 19 of 20at arm's length

  • Spencer, NicolePresidentarm's length
  • Hilworth, RandyDirectorarm's length
  • Martin, DanaVice Presidentarm's length
  • Hanna, TiarellaDirectorarm's length
  • Weatherby, KelleyTreasurerarm's length
  • Cooper, Meganarm's length
  • Tuma, Dr MichelleDirectorarm's length
  • Flanagan, StephanPresidentarm's length
  • McLean, AprilSecretaryarm's length
  • Thorne, MargoVice Presidentarm's length
Show all 20 directors
  • Balaji, KavithaTreasurerarm's length
  • Burnett, RachelDirectorarm's length
  • Cuilihall, JessicaDirectorarm's length
  • Rnadel, JuliaDirectorarm's length
  • Thomson, DanielleVice Presidentarm's length
  • Reed, Terence LPresidentarm's length
  • Thorne, Margo EVice President
  • Peeler, AlyssaDirectorarm's length
  • McPhail, BronwynDirectorarm's length
  • Burnett, RachelDirectorarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗

Northwest Territories Society… — 1¢ of each $1 to programs