Skip to main content

VE'AHAVTA

Charitable organizationOrganizations relieving poverty·1 - 4100 CHESSWOOD DR · NORTH YORK, ON · M3J 2B9·BN 888042439RR0001

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Give via CanadaHelps ↗We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

79¢

of each dollar spent, to programs

Operating overhead T1

21%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

0.2 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$851K

Charity Intelligence ★★★★ · T2

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

Common questions

How do I donate to Ve'ahavta?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps to donate. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Ve'ahavta a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 888042439RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Ve'ahavta located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 1 - 4100 CHESSWOOD DR, NORTH YORK, ON, M3J 2B9. Source.

What does Ve'ahavta do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "VE'AHAVTA IS A SOCIAL SERVICE AGENCY OFFERING HIGH-IMPACT PROGRAMS FOR PEOPLE AT RISK OF HOMELESSNESS HELPING THEM MOVE FROM INSTABILITY TO SELF-SUFFICIENCY. OUR PROGRAMS FILL A SERVICE GAP BY EQUIPPING INDIVIDUALS NOT ONLY WITH THE SUPPLIES AND SERVICES THEY NEED BUT ALSO A SENSE OF COMMUNITY AND CARE THAT FOCUSES…" Full program description.

How much of Ve'ahavta's spending goes to programs?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 79¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is Ve'ahavta?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $851K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

VE'AHAVTA IS A SOCIAL SERVICE AGENCY OFFERING HIGH-IMPACT PROGRAMS FOR PEOPLE AT RISK OF HOMELESSNESS HELPING THEM MOVE FROM INSTABILITY TO SELF-SUFFICIENCY. OUR PROGRAMS FILL A SERVICE GAP BY EQUIPPING INDIVIDUALS NOT ONLY WITH THE SUPPLIES AND SERVICES THEY NEED BUT ALSO A SENSE OF COMMUNITY AND CARE THAT FOCUSES ON THE WHOLE PERSON AND THEIR UNIQUE NEEDS. CLIENTS DEVELOP THE SKILLS AND SELF-CONFIDENCE TO RE-ENTER THE WORKFORCE. WE WORK DIRECTLY BOTH WITH OTHER AGENCIES FROM WHICH WE ACCEPT REFERRALS AND REFER OUT TO INCLUDING THOSE THAT HANDLE HOUSING/SHELTER PLACEMENT HEALTHCARE LEG… Show more

VE'AHAVTA IS A SOCIAL SERVICE AGENCY OFFERING HIGH-IMPACT PROGRAMS FOR PEOPLE AT RISK OF HOMELESSNESS HELPING THEM MOVE FROM INSTABILITY TO SELF-SUFFICIENCY. OUR PROGRAMS FILL A SERVICE GAP BY EQUIPPING INDIVIDUALS NOT ONLY WITH THE SUPPLIES AND SERVICES THEY NEED BUT ALSO A SENSE OF COMMUNITY AND CARE THAT FOCUSES ON THE WHOLE PERSON AND THEIR UNIQUE NEEDS. CLIENTS DEVELOP THE SKILLS AND SELF-CONFIDENCE TO RE-ENTER THE WORKFORCE. WE WORK DIRECTLY BOTH WITH OTHER AGENCIES FROM WHICH WE ACCEPT REFERRALS AND REFER OUT TO INCLUDING THOSE THAT HANDLE HOUSING/SHELTER PLACEMENT HEALTHCARE LEGAL/FINANCIAL SERVICES JOB SKILLS TRAINING NEWCOMER SERVICES AND EMPLOYMENT.ONGOING PROGRAMS: - RELIEF AND REFERRAL: OUR MOBILE OUTREACH VANS PROVIDE HOT MEALS HARM REDUCTION KITS CLOTHING AND PROGRAM REFERRALS TO PEOPLE FACING HOMELESSNESS - WORK AND LIFE SKILLS TRAINING: THESE PROGRAMS COMBINE CLASSROOM LEARNING VOCATIONAL ASSESSMENTS AND CASE MANAGEMENT TO HELP PEOPLE ACHIEVE ACADEMIC AND EMPLOYMENT GOALS - PAID INTERNSHIPS: INDIVIDUALS LEARN JOB-SPECIFIC SKILLS IN EITHER THE WAREHOUSE OR KITCHEN INDUSTRIES WHILE EARNING MONEY IN PREPARATION FOR THE WORKFORCE - VOLUNTEER COMMUNITY MOBILIZATION: ALL VE'AHAVTA PROGRAMS ARE DESIGNED TO INCLUDE MEANINGFUL FACE-TO-FACE VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES THAT SPARK TRANSFORMATIONAL CHANGE IN BOTH CLIENTS AND VOLUNTEERS

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

79¢

Per its F2024 T3010, 79¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.

Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 89¢ among those its size (under $1M).

this charity 79¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

21%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

0.2 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Charities its size (under $1M, 27,629): median 1 yr; 14% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$851K

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

39%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

5%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    39%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    5%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    56%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.

Overall rating

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

★★★★

Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Results reporting

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Demonstrated impact

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

15 directors reported · 15 of 15at arm's length

  • ZIMMERMAN, LARRYDIRECTORarm's length
  • HABER, RONALDCHAIRarm's length
  • LEVINE, NORMANDIRECTORarm's length
  • BERG, AMALIADIRECTORarm's length
  • CHERVINSKY, TOMDIRECTORarm's length
  • MAGERMAN, CHARLESDIRECTORarm's length
  • FLEDMAN, MICHAELDIRECTORarm's length
  • WINER, ALANDIRECTORarm's length
  • GLIED, TAMMYDIRECTORarm's length
  • KAGAN, SUSANDIRECTORarm's length
Show all 15 directors
  • BLAJCHMAN, AMIELDIRECTORarm's length
  • SCHATZKY, KATEDIRECTORarm's length
  • BERLACH, DEBORAHDIRECTORarm's length
  • DENOV, CELIADIRECTORarm's length
  • TOBENSTEIN, MELISSADIRECTORarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗