CALGARY STAMPEDE FOUNDATION
Charitable organizationEducational organizations (n.e.c.)·PO BOX 1060 STATION M · CALGARY, AB · T2P 2K8·BN 893125070RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31
Cents to cause T1
73¢
of each dollar spent, to programs
Operating overhead T1
6%
typical range 5–35%
Reserves T1
2.2 yr
of program spending, in cash and investments
Revenue T1
$8.9M
Charity Intelligence ★★ · T2
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
Common questions
How do I donate to Calgary Stampede Foundation?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is Calgary Stampede Foundation a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 893125070RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is Calgary Stampede Foundation located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is PO BOX 1060 STATION M, CALGARY, AB, T2P 2K8. Source.
What does Calgary Stampede Foundation do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "THE CALGARY STAMPEDE FOUNDATION IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING THE YOUTH OF ALBERTA WITH THE OPPORTUNITY TO DEVELOP STRONG ROOTS IN THEIR CULTURE AND HERITAGE THROUGH PROGRAMS THAT ENHANCE PERSONAL GROWTH CITIZENSHIP AND EDUCATION. PROGRAMS INCLUDE: 1)TRAINING FOR YOUTH IN THE PERFORMING ARTS (YOUNG CANADIANS SCHOOL OF…" Full program description.
How much of Calgary Stampede Foundation's spending goes to programs?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 73¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is Calgary Stampede Foundation?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $8.9M (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $1M–$10M revenue band, alongside 9,072 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
THE CALGARY STAMPEDE FOUNDATION IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING THE YOUTH OF ALBERTA WITH THE OPPORTUNITY TO DEVELOP STRONG ROOTS IN THEIR CULTURE AND HERITAGE THROUGH PROGRAMS THAT ENHANCE PERSONAL GROWTH CITIZENSHIP AND EDUCATION. PROGRAMS INCLUDE: 1)TRAINING FOR YOUTH IN THE PERFORMING ARTS (YOUNG CANADIANS SCHOOL OF PERFORMING ARTS STAMPEDE SHOWBAND SHOWRIDERS) 2)AGRICULTURE-RELATED SCHOOL ENVIRONMENT PROGRAMS FOR VISITING SCHOOL CLASSES (STAMPEDE SCHOOL AND OH RANCH EDUCATION PROGRAM) 3)SCHOLARSHIPS DISBURSED TO YOUTH IN THE ARTS LIVESTOCK AND AGRICULTURAL ARENAS 4)AGRICULTURAL PROGRAMMING… Show more
THE CALGARY STAMPEDE FOUNDATION IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING THE YOUTH OF ALBERTA WITH THE OPPORTUNITY TO DEVELOP STRONG ROOTS IN THEIR CULTURE AND HERITAGE THROUGH PROGRAMS THAT ENHANCE PERSONAL GROWTH CITIZENSHIP AND EDUCATION. PROGRAMS INCLUDE: 1)TRAINING FOR YOUTH IN THE PERFORMING ARTS (YOUNG CANADIANS SCHOOL OF PERFORMING ARTS STAMPEDE SHOWBAND SHOWRIDERS) 2)AGRICULTURE-RELATED SCHOOL ENVIRONMENT PROGRAMS FOR VISITING SCHOOL CLASSES (STAMPEDE SCHOOL AND OH RANCH EDUCATION PROGRAM) 3)SCHOLARSHIPS DISBURSED TO YOUTH IN THE ARTS LIVESTOCK AND AGRICULTURAL ARENAS 4)AGRICULTURAL PROGRAMMING FOR YOUTH (4-H RODEO AND 4-H ON PARADE) 5)CULTURAL PROGRAMMING FOR INDIGENOUS YOUTH 6) YOUTH CAMPUS-A VITAL CREATIVE AREA FOCUSED ON YOUNG PEOPLE THE SUPPORTS DEVELOPING STRONG COMMUNITY ROOTS THROUGH EDUCATION AND THE PERFORMING ARTS (INCLUDING THE TRANSALTA PERFORMING ARTS STUDIOS BMO AMPHITHEATRE AND DOHERTY HALL).
New programs
OPENED IN MAY 2024 THE SAM CENTRE A 30 000 SQUARE FOOT BUILDING IN YOUTH CAMPUS BRINGS CALGARY STAMPEDE STORIES TO LIFE THROUGH HIGHLY PARTICIPATORY AND IMMERSIVE EXPERIENCES FUELED BY TECHNOLOGY COMPELLING STORY-MARKING AND WESTERN HOSPITALITY.
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
73¢
Per its F2024 T3010, 73¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.
Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 87¢ among those its size ($1M–$10M).
this charity 73¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
6%
Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
2.2 yr
Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.
Charities its size ($1M–$10M, 9,072): median 0.5 yr; 43% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$8.9M
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)10%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
0%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
10%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
0%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
90%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-12-31 | $6.6M | 65¢ | 15% | 13.2 yr |
| 2020-12-31 | $5.2M | 49¢ | 21% | 31.4 yr |
| 2021-12-31 | $4.7M | 55¢ | 18% | 20.4 yr |
| 2022-12-31 | $12.0M | 53¢ | 12% | 12.3 yr |
| 2023-12-31 | $13.7M | 75¢ | 12% | 6.9 yr |
| 2024-12-31 | $8.9M | 73¢ | 6% | 2.2 yr |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.
Overall rating
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence★★
Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Results reporting
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Demonstrated impact
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- Agrarians Foundation
VANCOUVER, BC·revenue $1.7M
89¢to programs · T1
- THE ALBERTA HUNTER EDUCATION INSTRUCTORS ASSOCIATION
CALGARY, AB·revenue $3.5M
—to programs · T1
- THE DUKE OF EDINBURGH'S INTERNATIONAL AWARD FOUNDATION (CANADA)
TORONTO, ON·revenue $1.2M
79¢to programs · T1
- FONDATION OPTIMISTE DES ENFANTS CANADIENS
WESTMOUNT, QC·revenue $508K
13¢to programs · T1
- Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association
CORNWALL, ON·revenue $1.9M
92¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
15 directors reported · 15 of 15at arm's length
- GRAY, BILLBOARD CHAIRarm's length
- BEST, CATHERINEDIRECTORarm's length
- COPITHORNE-BARNES, CHERIEDIRECTORarm's length
- NORRIS, CLAYTONDIRECTORarm's length
- SENYK, CRAIGDIRECTORarm's length
- LALANI, FAUZIADIERCTORarm's length
- GUNN, IANDIRECTORarm's length
- KOUSINIORIS, JOHNDIRECTORarm's length
- CURRIE, LAUCHLANDIRECTORarm's length
- COUTU, MARCELDIRECTORarm's length
Show all 15 directors
- THOMPSON, BOBDIRECTORarm's length
- THON, SCOTTDIRECTORarm's length
- NORRIS, SHELLYDIRECTORarm's length
- O'CONNOR, STUARTDIRECTORarm's length
- BROWN, SUSANDIRECTORarm's length
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗