THE GOVERNORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY
Charitable organizationTeaching institutions·2500 UNIVERSITY DR NW · CALGARY, AB · T2N 1N4·BN 108102864RR0001·website ↗
Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31
Cents to cause T1
87¢
of each dollar spent, to programs
Operating overhead T1
13%
typical range 5–35%
Reserves T1
1.9 yr
of program spending, in cash and investments
Revenue T1
$1.7B
Charity Intelligence ★★★★★ · T2
— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures
Common questions
How do I donate to The Governors of the University of Calgary?
You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.
Is The Governors of the University of Calgary a registered charity?
Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 108102864RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.
Where is The Governors of the University of Calgary located?
Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 2500 UNIVERSITY DR NW, CALGARY, AB, T2N 1N4. Source.
What does The Governors of the University of Calgary do?
In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "The University of Calgary had 37 400 full time and part time students in the 2023/2024 fiscal year from over 100 countries registered in the following 15 faculties: Art Cummung School of Medicine Environmental Design Graduate Studies Haskayne School of Business Kinesiology Law Nursing Nursing (Qatar) Schulich…" Full program description.
How much of The Governors of the University of Calgary's spending goes to programs?T1
Per its F2024 T3010, 87¢ of each dollar it spent went to programs (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.
How big is The Governors of the University of Calgary?T1
Its last-reported revenue was $1.7B (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's $100M and over revenue band, alongside 360 other operating charities.
What it does — in its own words
Ongoing programs
The University of Calgary had 37 400 full time and part time students in the 2023/2024 fiscal year from over 100 countries registered in the following 15 faculties: Art Cummung School of Medicine Environmental Design Graduate Studies Haskayne School of Business Kinesiology Law Nursing Nursing (Qatar) Schulich School of Engineering Science Social Work Veterinary Medicine Werklund School of Education and Public Policy. The University employed the equivalent head count of 3 307 regular staff and 10 984 staff classified as either fixed-term limited-term temporary hourly and hourly… Show more
The University of Calgary had 37 400 full time and part time students in the 2023/2024 fiscal year from over 100 countries registered in the following 15 faculties: Art Cummung School of Medicine Environmental Design Graduate Studies Haskayne School of Business Kinesiology Law Nursing Nursing (Qatar) Schulich School of Engineering Science Social Work Veterinary Medicine Werklund School of Education and Public Policy. The University employed the equivalent head count of 3 307 regular staff and 10 984 staff classified as either fixed-term limited-term temporary hourly and hourly-research primarily engaged in Research and Education. Approximately 550 volunteers were utilized during the fiscal period.
New programs
NA
Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗
Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)
From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.
87¢
Per its F2024 T3010, 87¢ of each dollar spent went to programs. The rest ran the organization and raised money; higher is not automatically better.
Sector median: 89¢ across 55,155 computed charities; 92¢ among those its size ($100M and over).
this charity 87¢ · sector median 89¢ · all 55,155 computed charities
T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
13%
Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.
T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
1.9 yr
Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.
Charities its size ($100M and over, 360): median 0.3 yr; 55% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.
T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Total revenue
T1 · computed (open data)$1.7B
Last-reported total revenue.
T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Donor-funded
T1 · computed (open data)2%
Share of revenue from receipted donations.
T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
49%
Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.
T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means
Where the money comes from
Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.
Receipted donationsT1
2%
T3010 4500 ÷ 4700
GovernmentT1
49%
T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700
Other revenueT1
50%
T3010 remainder ÷ 4700
Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗
Over the years
Every figure as filed at each fiscal period end, 2019–2024.
| Period end | Revenue | Cents to cause | Overhead | Reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019-03-31 | $1.6B | 86¢ | 14% | 1.7 yr |
| 2020-03-31 | $1.6B | 88¢ | 12% | 1.5 yr |
| 2021-03-31 | $1.5B | 89¢ | 11% | 1.8 yr |
| 2022-03-31 | $1.5B | 88¢ | 12% | 1.8 yr |
| 2023-03-31 | $1.5B | 89¢ | 11% | 1.8 yr |
| 2024-03-31 | $1.7B | 87¢ | 13% | 1.9 yr |
| trend |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
From its T3010 filings (CRA annual releases) · self-reported, not audited by us · when a period is restated in a later release, the newest figures are shown · ✱ = cents-to-cause outside the valid 0–100% range (filing error; not used in rankings). source ↗
★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)
Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.
Overall rating
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence★★★★★
Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Results reporting
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Demonstrated impact
★ T2 · Charity Intelligence—
Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.
Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗
Similar charities
Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.
- THE GOVERNORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ALBERTA
EDMONTON, AB·revenue $2.0B5 of 5 stars, Charity Intelligence T2
92¢to programs · T1
- THE CALGARY BOARD OF EDUCATION
CALGARY, AB·revenue $1.6B
—to programs · T1
- THE GOVERNORS OF ST. FRANCIS XAVIER UNIVERSITY
ANTIGONISH, NS·revenue $164.1M
84¢to programs · T1
- THE GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO
TORONTO, ON·revenue $4.9B3 of 5 stars, Charity Intelligence T2
95¢to programs · T1
- The Calgary Roman Catholic Separate School Division
CALGARY, AB·revenue $681.2M
97¢to programs · T1
Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.
Board of directors
32 directors reported · 5 of 32at arm's length
- Bergerson, JouleAcademic Staffarm's length
- Foster, NancyPublic
- Hammond, LorindaAUPE
- Herman, MarkPublic
- Mccauley, EdEx Officio
- Tibbles, GlennSenate
- WEISSENBERGER, JohnPublic
- Wong, ElainePublic
- Brown, JayPublic Memberarm's length
- Schmidt, NicoleStudent's Unionarm's length
Show all 32 directors
- Blackwell, MarkPublic
- Cornish, JonEx Officio
- Davison, JeffPublic
- Dhanani, AleemPublic
- Ganzlin, KarenPublic
- Habibi, HamidAcademic Staff
- Labrie, Jodi JensonPublic
- Li, CandicePublic
- O'Yeung, WilliamAlumni
- Price, DavidPublic
- Wolf, CaraAlumni
- Zhang, GaryPublic
- Zonneveld, PaulPublic
- Saaka, Saaka SulemanaGraduate Student's Association
- Aamir, MuntahaStudents' Union
- AKHTAR, TAIMURStudents' Unionarm's length
- KIEFER, EVAPublicarm's length
- JINNAH MORSETTE, SHAZIAHStudents' Union
- RAI, CRISTINAAUPE
- SOOD, ARUNPublic
- STEELE, JAMESGraduate Student's Association
- THOMAS, MELANEEAcademic Staff (TUCFA)
From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗
Right of reply
This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.
Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗