Skip to main content

BRAIN TUMOUR FOUNDATION OF CANADA

Public foundationFoundations·203 - 205 HORTON ST E · LONDON, ON · N6B 1K7·BN 118816339RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-12-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Disbursed to charities T1

—

not in this filing

Operating overhead T1

22%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

2 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$3.2M

Charity Intelligence ★★★★ · T2

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

This is a foundation: it mostly grants money to other charities, so program-spending ratios are the wrong lens. We show the share of spending disbursed to qualified donees instead.

Common questions

How do I donate to Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 118816339RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 203 - 205 HORTON ST E, LONDON, ON, N6B 1K7. Source.

What does Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "THROUGH THE SUPPORT OF DONORS AND VOLUNTEERS WE TAKE ACTION AND PROVIDE PROGRAMS FOR EVERY CANADIAN AFFECTED BY A BRAIN TUMOUR. WE PROVIDE INFORMATION INCLUDING HANDBOOKS STORYBOOKS INFORMATION SHEETS VIDEOS AND A COMPREHENSIVE WEBSITE AND WE FACILITATE EDUCATION EVENTS AND SUPPORT GROUP MEETINGS. THE BRAIN TUMOUR…" Full program description.

How big is Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $3.2M (F2024).

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

THROUGH THE SUPPORT OF DONORS AND VOLUNTEERS WE TAKE ACTION AND PROVIDE PROGRAMS FOR EVERY CANADIAN AFFECTED BY A BRAIN TUMOUR. WE PROVIDE INFORMATION INCLUDING HANDBOOKS STORYBOOKS INFORMATION SHEETS VIDEOS AND A COMPREHENSIVE WEBSITE AND WE FACILITATE EDUCATION EVENTS AND SUPPORT GROUP MEETINGS. THE BRAIN TUMOUR REASEARCH FIELD IS INCREDIBLY COMPLEX AND SO WE FUND THE RESEARCH PROJECTS AT CANADIAN UNIVERSITIES AND HOSPITALS THAT ARE INVESTIGATING TREATMENT IMPROVEMENTS QUALITY OF LIFE AND CURES. WE ALSO LEVERAGE FUNDS BY SUPPORTING INTERNATIONAL COLLABORATIONS INVESTIGATING STRATEGICALL… Show more

THROUGH THE SUPPORT OF DONORS AND VOLUNTEERS WE TAKE ACTION AND PROVIDE PROGRAMS FOR EVERY CANADIAN AFFECTED BY A BRAIN TUMOUR. WE PROVIDE INFORMATION INCLUDING HANDBOOKS STORYBOOKS INFORMATION SHEETS VIDEOS AND A COMPREHENSIVE WEBSITE AND WE FACILITATE EDUCATION EVENTS AND SUPPORT GROUP MEETINGS. THE BRAIN TUMOUR REASEARCH FIELD IS INCREDIBLY COMPLEX AND SO WE FUND THE RESEARCH PROJECTS AT CANADIAN UNIVERSITIES AND HOSPITALS THAT ARE INVESTIGATING TREATMENT IMPROVEMENTS QUALITY OF LIFE AND CURES. WE ALSO LEVERAGE FUNDS BY SUPPORTING INTERNATIONAL COLLABORATIONS INVESTIGATING STRATEGICALLY IMPORTANT BRAIN TUMOUR INSIGHTS AND ENSURE THE ONGOING FUNDING OF THE LONDON-BASED TUMOUR TISSUE BANK SUPPORTING THE GLOBAL RESEARCH EFFORT. LEADING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE CANADIAN BRAIN TUMOUR REGISTRY TO COUNT EVERY PERSON WITH A BRAIN TUMOUR IN CANADA IS A CRITICAL NEXT STEP TO UNDERSTANDING THE IMPACT OF THE DISEASE ACROSS THE COUNTRY. EDUCATING HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS AND ALL LEVELS OF GOVERMENT ON THE SPECIFIC ISSUES AND NEEDS OF CANADIANS LIVING WITH A BRAIN TUMOUR SUPPORTS THE MISSION TO REACH EVERY CANADIAN AFFECTED BY A BRAIN TUMOUR

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Disbursed to qualified donees

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not computable from this filing: the gifts-to-qualified-donees line (5050) or total (5100) is missing or outside the possible range.

T3010 line 5050 ÷ 5100 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

22%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

2 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Charities its size ($1M–$10M, 9,072): median 0.5 yr; 43% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$3.2M

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

63%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

0%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    63%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    0%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    37%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.

Overall rating

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

★★★★

Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Results reporting

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Demonstrated impact

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

13 directors reported · 13 of 13at arm's length

  • DAVIS, FAITHCHAIRarm's length
  • WALKER, BILLVICE-CHAIRarm's length
  • SMITH, RUSSELLTREASURERarm's length
  • AVIE, DELASECRETARYarm's length
  • MENDELSOHN, DANIELDIRECTORarm's length
  • THOMAS, ARUNDIRECTORarm's length
  • MUTREY, MIKEDIRECTORarm's length
  • LAKUSTA, MIKEDIRECTORarm's length
  • HARRISON, REBECCADIRECTORarm's length
  • IRONSIDE, SARAHDIRECTORarm's length
Show all 13 directors
  • ALLAN, KRISTYDIRECTORarm's length
  • GANDHI, SHREYADIRECTORarm's length
  • IVANKO, JEFFDIRECTORarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗