Skip to main content

United Way Maritimes/Centraide des Maritimes

Public foundationFoundations·M101 - 1809 BARRINGTON ST · HALIFAX, NS · B3J 3K8·BN 119278232RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Disbursed to charities T1

66%

of spending, to other registered charities

Operating overhead T1

46%

typical range 5–35%

Reserves T1

5.8 yr

of program spending, in cash and investments

Revenue T1

$10.3M

Charity Intelligence ★★★★ · T2

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

This is a foundation: it mostly grants money to other charities, so program-spending ratios are the wrong lens. We show the share of spending disbursed to qualified donees instead.

Common questions

How do I donate to United Way Maritimes?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is United Way Maritimes a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 119278232RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is United Way Maritimes located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is M101 - 1809 BARRINGTON ST, HALIFAX, NS, B3J 3K8. Source.

What does United Way Maritimes do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "United Way of Halifax Region invests in community development and initiatives to build our extraordinary community as a leader and facilitator. We create relationship establish networks build on individual strengths and work to ensure that our community has the capacity to address issues that affect quality of life…" Full program description.

How much does United Way Maritimes disburse to other charities?T1

Per its F2024 T3010, 66% of its spending went to other registered charities (self-reported, not independently verified). Full figures.

How big is United Way Maritimes?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $10.3M (F2024).

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

United Way of Halifax Region invests in community development and initiatives to build our extraordinary community as a leader and facilitator. We create relationship establish networks build on individual strengths and work to ensure that our community has the capacity to address issues that affect quality of life of our clients.

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Disbursed to qualified donees

T1 · computed (open data)

66%

Per its F2024 T3010, this share of total spending went to other registered charities.

T3010 line 5050 ÷ 5100 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

46%

Management, administration, and fundraising as a share of total spending. We treat 5–35% as the typical range; we state the figure, you judge.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

5.8 yr

Years that cash, bank balances and investments on hand could cover program spending; liabilities and restricted funds are not netted out.

Charities its size ($10M–$100M, 1,776): median 0.4 yr; 53% hold under half a year. All operating charities: median 0.8 yr.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$10.3M

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

14%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

40%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    14%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    40%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    46%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Published ratings by Charity Intelligence Canada's analysts — a separate, human review. Shown as published, never blended into our computed figures.

Overall rating

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

★★★★

Charity Intelligence's 0–5 star overall rating.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Results reporting

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Demonstrated impact

★ T2 · Charity Intelligence

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

Analyst-reviewed by Charity Intelligence; their methodology, shown as published. source ↗

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

16 directors reported · 16 of 16at arm's length

  • Hilaire, KennyChairarm's length
  • Jollimore, VictoriaCommunity Impact Chairarm's length
  • Napier, SaraCEOarm's length
  • Noseworthy, DaleAudit Finance & Risk Chairarm's length
  • Tector, Kathrynarm's length
  • Godsoe, Lauraarm's length
  • McCulloch, Johnarm's length
  • Wozney, Paularm's length
  • Provo, Quentrelarm's length
  • Nasrallah, Ossamaarm's length
Show all 16 directors
  • Jangaard, Kristaarm's length
  • Fougere, Suzannearm's length
  • Auld, JennDirectorarm's length
  • MacDonald, LiaDirectorarm's length
  • MacKenzie, AndyDirectorarm's length
  • Park, LoriDirectorarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗