Skip to main content

VICTORIA RAINBOW KITCHEN SOCIETY

Charitable organizationOrganizations relieving poverty·500 ADMIRALS ROAD · ESQUIMALT, BC · V9A 2N4·BN 814504650RR0001·website ↗

Last reported: F2024 filing · period ending 2024-03-31

Visit its official website ↗Give via CanadaHelps ↗Both links leave Charity Compass. We never handle your money and take no fee.

Cents to cause T1

—

not in this filing

Operating overhead T1

—

not in this filing

Reserves T1

—

not in this filing

Revenue T1

$772K

not reviewed by an analyst (Charity Intelligence)

— means the filing doesn't include the lines needed; details and sources below.·How to read these figures

This charity filed the simplified return, so some figures can't be computed. Fewer numbers, never invented ones.

Common questions

How do I donate to Victoria Rainbow Kitchen Society?

You can search for it on CanadaHelps or give directly through its own website. Charity Compass never handles your money — we only link out to where you can give.

Is Victoria Rainbow Kitchen Society a registered charity?

Per CRA records, it filed a F2024 T3010 return under charity number 814504650RR0001. Registration status can change, so check the CRA charities listing for its current status. Only a currently registered charity can issue an official donation receipt.

Where is Victoria Rainbow Kitchen Society located?

Per its F2024 T3010, its address on file is 500 ADMIRALS ROAD, ESQUIMALT, BC, V9A 2N4. Source.

What does Victoria Rainbow Kitchen Society do?

In its own words, from its F2024 T3010 filing: "VICTORIA RAINBOW KITCHEN SOCIETY IS KNOWN AS A LEADER IN FOOD SECURITY IN OUR COMMUNITY PROVIDING ESSENTIAL IN-HOME HOT MEALS AND FOOD SHARING PROGRAMS EACH WEEK INCLUDING MEALS SUPPLIED TO THREE LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS. SUPPORTING OVER 230 000 MEAL EQUIVALENTS THIS YEAR TO OUR COMMUNITY AND BEYOND. SERVING WITHOUT…" Full program description.

How big is Victoria Rainbow Kitchen Society?T1

Its last-reported revenue was $772K (F2024), which places it in Charity Compass's under $1M revenue band, alongside 27,629 other operating charities.

What it does — in its own words

Ongoing programs

VICTORIA RAINBOW KITCHEN SOCIETY IS KNOWN AS A LEADER IN FOOD SECURITY IN OUR COMMUNITY PROVIDING ESSENTIAL IN-HOME HOT MEALS AND FOOD SHARING PROGRAMS EACH WEEK INCLUDING MEALS SUPPLIED TO THREE LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS. SUPPORTING OVER 230 000 MEAL EQUIVALENTS THIS YEAR TO OUR COMMUNITY AND BEYOND. SERVING WITHOUT QUESTION OR REGISTRATION TO ANYONE EXPERIENCING FOOD INSECURITY 5 DAYS A WEEK 50 WEEKS A YEAR. ESTIMATING TO ASSIST 5 500 INDIVIDUALS/FAMILIES EACH YEAR. WORK IS COMPLETED BY 6 FULL-TIME STAFF AND THE DEDICATION AND DONATED TIME OF OVER 200 VOLUNTEERS.

Program descriptions from its F2024 T3010 filing, verbatim · self-reported · this is also the text our semantic search matches against. source ↗

Tier 1 — what we computed (open data)

From the charity's own F2024 T3010 filing. Self-reported; not independently verified. You can recompute every figure. New to these terms? Read what cents to the cause, overhead and reserves mean.

Cents to cause

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not computable from this filing.

T3010 line 5000 ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Operating overhead

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (5010 + 5020) ÷ 4950 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Reserves

T1 · computed (open data)

—

Not reported in this filing: the return leaves out the lines this figure needs, so we show nothing rather than an estimate.

T3010 line (4100 + 4140) ÷ 5000 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Total revenue

T1 · computed (open data)

$772K

Last-reported total revenue.

T3010 line 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Donor-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

30%

Share of revenue from receipted donations.

T3010 line 4500 ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

Government-funded

T1 · computed (open data)

8%

Share of revenue from federal, provincial, and municipal sources.

T3010 line 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700 · Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗ · what this means

Where the money comes from

Shares of last-reported revenue, per its F2024 T3010. Self-reported; not independently verified.

  • Receipted donationsT1

    30%

    T3010 4500 ÷ 4700

  • GovernmentT1

    8%

    T3010 4570 (or 4540+4550+4560) ÷ 4700

  • Other revenueT1

    63%

    T3010 remainder ÷ 4700

Self-reported on the T3010; not independently verified. source ↗

★ Tier 2 — Charity Intelligence (analyst-reviewed)

Not rated by Charity Intelligence. Their analysts cover 819 of Canada's 83,761 charities; absence of a rating says nothing about this charity. Our computed figures above stand on their own.

Similar charities

Same CRA category, revenue within 20× of this one, and the closest program descriptions in their own filings. A shortlist to compare, not a ranking.

Figures per each charity's F2024 T3010 · self-reported, not audited by us · ✱= that filing's expense lines don't reconcile · open a profile for sources and caveats.

Board of directors

7 directors reported · 7 of 7at arm's length

  • WRIGHT, JULIEPAST CHAIRarm's length
  • KANJI, FARHANCHAIRarm's length
  • HAWES, JENNIFERVICE CHAIRarm's length
  • JERVIS, HUGHDIRECTORarm's length
  • COLLINS, GIULIADIRECTORarm's length
  • CUTHBERTSON, JENNYSECRETARYarm's length
  • CAVENS, DUNCANTREASURERarm's length

From its F2024T3010 filing (public CRA record), as filed. “Arm's length” means not related to other officials by family or business ties. source ↗

Right of reply

This charity hasn't added a response yet. When it does, it appears here, beside the numbers, and is never removed. Represent this charity? Submit a response.

Verify everything: full public record on CharityData.ca ↗ · CRA charities listing ↗

Victoria Rainbow Kitchen… — F2024 filing, finances & board